Inventory Details

Titles marked "On our shelves now" are on the shelf at Once Upon a Time in Montrose. You can choose to pick up the item at the store or we can ship it for you.

Titles marked "Ships in 1-5 days" are NOT in our store currently but can be fulfilled from our local warehouse depending on availability. 

Title marked "Special Order" are NOT in our store currently, and our experience shows, they are usually out of print or otherwise unavailable. 

Find out more about our online inventory here

Defy the Stars (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Defy the Stars Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


A fast-paced adventure that is perfect for the sci-fi fan. This story makes you think hard about what it means to be human, and what our responsibilities are to the world we live on and those we interact with.

— Jessica

A fast-paced adventure that is perfect for the sci-fi fan. This story makes you think hard about what it means to be human, and what our responsibilities are to the world we live on and those we interact with. - Jessica

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Lost Stars and Bloodline comes a thrilling sci-fi adventure that Kass Morgan, bestselling author of The 100 series, calls "startlingly original and achingly romantic...nothing short of masterful."
She's a soldier -- Noemi Vidal is willing to risk anything to protect her planet, Genesis, including her own life. To their enemies on Earth, she's a rebel.
He's a machine -- Abandoned in space for years, utterly alone, Abel's advanced programming has begun to evolve. He wants only to protect his creator, and to be free. To the people of Genesis, he's an abomination.
Noemi and Abel are enemies in an interstellar war, forced by chance to work together as they embark on a daring journey through the stars. Their efforts would end the fighting for good, but they're not without sacrifice. The stakes are even higher than either of them first realized, and the more time they spend together, the more they're forced to question everything they'd been taught was true.
An epic and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles and Illuminae.

About the Author


Claudia Gray is the New York Times bestselling author of many science fiction and paranormal fantasy books for young adults, including Defy the Stars, Defy the Worlds, the Firebird series, the Evernight series, the Spellcaster series, and Fateful. She's also had a chance to work in a galaxy far, far away as the author of the Star Wars novels Lost Stars and Bloodline. Born a fangirl, she loves obsessing over geeky movies and TV shows, as well as reading and occasionally writing fanfiction; however, she periodically leaves the house to go kayaking, do a little hiking, or travel the world. She will take your Jane Austen trivia challenge any day, anytime. Currently she lives in New Orleans.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316394031
ISBN-10: 0316394033
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: Defy the Stars

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

The scientific process for kids with magical animals! The cover alone is all your young reader needs to see with this adorable new early chapter book series. Zoey with the help of her cat Sassafras and her handy Thinking Goggles uses deduction and the scientific process to find the best way to help the magical creatures that come to their door in need of care and love. Cute black and white illustrations with a helpful glossary in the back for those carefully introduced scientific words like hypothesis. My new go to recomendation! - Jessica