Staff Picks by Jessica

Staff Pick Logo
Strange the Dreamer Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316341684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 28th, 2017

Get ready to be swept up in this hauntingly beautiful story of an orphan boy who dreams of places no on remembers and a powerful girl fighting to do what is right. Laini Taylor creates a fantasy world that is sure to stay in your dreams. Great for readers who enjoyed Six of Crows, An Ember in the Ashes, or Taylor's other books. - Jessica


Staff Pick Logo
Daughter of the Pirate King Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250095961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - February 28th, 2017

Jack Sparrow move over, there is a new captain at sea! With wit, daring, strength, and a few tricks up her sleeve, Alosa is everything a pirate should be and more. Her confidence is amazing and is sure to win over fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laini Taylor. - Jessica


Staff Pick Logo
Karma Khullar's Mustache Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481477703
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 15th, 2017

Karma knows that middle school is a big deal, that's why she knows she MUST get the hair that has mysteriously appeared on her upper lip off. A highly relatable look at the trials and tribulations of middle school friends, family, and the dreaded p-word, puberty. Full of spot on humor and a strong look at what is important as we grow older. - Jessica


Staff Pick Logo
Words in Deep Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101937648
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 6th, 2017

Put simply, this is a love story to words; words said and unsaid, written and lost, found and loved. Told from two perspectives with a scattering of letters thrown in between, the story follows Rachel and Henry as they learn to grieve, to let go, and to find themselves. Anyone who has ever loved a book can understand the catalyst that simple words can have on these characters. - Jessica


Staff Pick Logo
A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars Cover Image
By Seth Fishman, Isabel Greenberg (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062455789
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 12th, 2017

A beautifully illustrated non-fiction book that is perfect for those kids who always ask "why?". A perfect book for teachers but also sweet enough to read every night as a bedtime story. The more often you read it, the better you will be at reading large numbers! Has a wonderfully accessible back matter page. - Jessica


Staff Pick Logo
Dragons and Marshmallows Cover Image
By Asia Citro, Marion Lindsay (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781943147090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Innovation Press - March 14th, 2017

The scientific process for kids with magical animals! The cover alone is all your young reader needs to see with this adorable new early chapter book series. Zoey with the help of her cat Sassafras and her handy Thinking Goggles uses deduction and the scientific process to find the best way to help the magical creatures that come to their door in need of care and love. Cute black and white illustrations with a helpful glossary in the back for those carefully introduced scientific words like hypothesis. My new go to recomendation! - Jessica


Staff Pick Logo
Amina's Voice Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481492065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - March 14th, 2017

A perfect book for young girls that are starting middle school. Amina is trying to figure out who she is and what she stands for as she learns about friends, bullying, and what it truly means to stand up for what you believe in. Lovely coming of age story. It also has such a stunning cover. - Jessica


Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm