Welcome to the award-winning Once Upon A Time Bookstore

Welcome to Once Upon A Time Bookstore -- established 1966

We are thrilled to be celebrating our 54th year in the community and have FABULOUS events planned.  We pride ourselves on our recommendations, events, and activities that have built community and kept families coming back to us for generations.  Shop, browse, and follow us on Facebook (@onceuponatimebookstore), Instagram (@onceuponatimebkstore), Twitter (@onceuponatimebk), as we have exciting upcoming events at your favorite family bookstore. THANK YOU for shopping local and for helping us to remain the Oldest Children's Bookstore in the Nation!

Happy Reading!


Our Children's Bestsellers This Week

Clark the Shark: Too Many Treats (I Can Read Level 1) Cover Image
Noah Webster and His Words Cover Image
The Chameleon Wore Chartreuse: A Chet Gecko Mystery Cover Image
The Recess Queen Cover Image
Noah Webster and His Words Cover Image
Fuzzy's Great Escape (Class Pets #1) Cover Image

Our Adult Bestsellers This Week

A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel Cover Image
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Cover Image
The Call of the Wild (Puffin Classics) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World: A Novel Cover Image
Secret Stairs: A Walking Guide to the Historic Staircases of Los Angeles Cover Image
The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse Cover Image

Love is a new book!

Staff Pick Badge
Love, Z Cover Image
Nobody Hugs a Cactus Cover Image
I Love You, Baby Shark: Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo  Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Prince and the Dressmaker Cover Image
P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before #2) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Frankly in Love Cover Image

How Audiobooks Grew the Reader in Me

I was 7-years old and I did not want to read.  I knew that I was able to but I felt that something was missing.  I come from a tradition of voices: pirate growls, southern drawls, prim ladies, and bold animals.  My mother was a drama major in college and used her talent to engage and enchant my sister and me every night as she read or made up stories for us.  Every word had energy and intention; the sleepy house made me long for naptime and the adventurous cowboy had me jumping all over my room. But I was never able to get the stories to come to life in the same way when reading by myself. 

Read more. 

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

In this season of strong, brave women, Maureen's absolute favorite memoir - Rough Magic by Lara Prior-Palmer - is not to be missed. It's about Lara's naiveté in trying to win the grueling, soul-wrenching World's Loneliest Horse Race in Mongolia, with nary a thought of preparation. This is for fans of Cherly Strayand's Wild and MacDonald's H is for Hawk and is writing at it's finest! - Review by Maureen