The Familiars (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Familiars Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Aug 16 7:30am
(Fantasy)

Staff Reviews


The story is about a [sic] ally cat a frog and a blue jay. These animals help out there [sic] masters in adventurs [sic]. These animals have special talents to help there masters. I like this book because it has a lot of adventurs. My favorit [sic] character is Gilbert the frog. The ally cat's name is Aldwin and Blue Jay's name is Skylar. - Rill, customer

— From Customer Picks

The book is about an alley cat that is being hunted by a hunter. Later Aldwyn, (the alley cat), stumbles across a store, that looks like a normal pet shop. But is actually a store that stores familiars. The familiars are helpers, that help young kids master their magic. In my opinion this book is very interesting, and adventurouse [sic]. The beginning of the story hooks you into the book, and doesn't let go until the end. This book takes you througha world of imagination. - Abraham, customer

— From Customer Picks

Autumn 2010 Kids' Next List


“Aldwyn the clever alley cat, Skylar, the skeptical blue jay, and Gilbert, the insecure tree frog are drawn together when they must save their Loyals from a corrupt Queen. In this spellbinding romp each proves their worth and finds their own magic. Perhaps the Familiars are destined to lead? In their debut novel Adam and Andrew have touches of the animal quest of Incredible Journey combined with the magic of Harry Potter and the animal charm of Charlotte's Web. This reader will be waiting impatiently for the rest of the promised trilogy.-- Shirley Mullin, Kids Ink, Children's Bookstore, Indianapolis, IN”
— Shirley Mullin, Kids Ink, Indianapolis, IN

Description


For fans of Warriors and The Magic Thief comes a magical adventure story about a street cat who's mistaken for a wizard’s familiar.

When Aldwyn, a young alley cat on the run, ducks into a mysterious pet shop, he doesn’t expect his life to change. But that’s exactly what happens when Jack, a young wizard in training, picks Aldwyn to be his magical familiar.

Finally off the tough streets, Aldwyn thinks he’s got it made. He just has to convince the other familiars—the know-it-all blue jay Skylar and the friendly tree frog Gilbert—that he’s the telekinetic cat he claims to be. But when Jack and two other wizards in training are captured by the evil queen, Aldwyn will have to use all of his street smarts, a few good friends, and a nose for adventure to save the day!

And don’t miss the exciting sequel to this Indie Next List pick, The Familiars: Secrets of the Crown.

About the Author


Adam Jay Epstein spent his childhood in Great Neck, New York, while Andrew Jacobson grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, but the two met in Los Angeles. They have been writing together for film and television ever since.

Their interest in space dates back to their early years, when Adam attended Space Academy in Huntsville, Alabama (and won the Right Stuff Award!), and Andrew went to a movie theater (for the first time) to see a rerelease of Star Wars.

Adam Jay Epstein lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Jane, and their daughters, Penny and Olive. Andrew Jacobson, his wife, Ashley, their son, Ryder, their daughter, Willa, and their two dogs live close by.



Adam Jay Epstein spent his childhood in Great Neck, New York, while Andrew Jacobson grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, but the two met in Los Angeles. They have been writing together for film and television ever since.

Their interest in space dates back to their early years, when Adam attended Space Academy in Huntsville, Alabama (and won the Right Stuff Award!), and Andrew went to a movie theater (for the first time) to see a rerelease of Star Wars.

Adam Jay Epstein lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Jane, and their daughters, Penny and Olive. Andrew Jacobson, his wife, Ashley, their son, Ryder, their daughter, Willa, and their two dogs live close by.

Praise For…


“This series opener won’t disappoint. The consistently suspenseful narrative moves quickly and is full of twists and turns. This winning combination of action and humor will keep readers turning pages right up to the ending.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Screenwriters Epstein and Jacobson’s children’s book debut is a grand adventure with entertaining characters and magic-induced fun, written in an appropriately cinematic style.”
— Publishers Weekly

“The Familiars combines the magic of Harry Potter and the adventure of Warriors into an enchanting story readers will love. Whether furry [like Aldwyn], flippered [like Gilbert] or feathered [like Skylar] you’ll be taking a closer look at your family pet.”
— Michael Buckley, author of The Sisters Grimm and NERDS

“Kids who love animal stories, adventure, fantasy and good humored friendship will be waiting impatiently for the next book in this rich and fantastical trilogy. So get familiar with the Familiars!”
— Becky Anderson, Anderson's Bookshop


Product Details
ISBN: 9780061961106
ISBN-10: 0061961108
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: June 7th, 2011
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Familiars

What we're reading this summer!

Be Prepared Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Ocean Meets Sky Cover Image
Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
A Reaper at the Gates (An Ember in the Ashes #3) Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

The fantastic follow up to McGee’s first Ryan Quinn adventure for middle grade readers will keep your adrenaline high, your heart thumping with suspense as the pages fly by. Ryan is once again teemed with his funny sidekick, Danny, a kid computer genius “aka” hacker, as well as numerous others. Ryan’s last adventures didn’t really include his parents, who are members of a secret Emergency Relocation Committee, who help at-risk people get out of their countries to safety. This time, Danny and Ryan are in a fictional African country trying to help old ERC friends and their parents are in the middle of the action with them. Reading the 1st adventure is not necessary in this high octane thriller for action-adventure fans. Perfect book for Rick Riordon, James Patterson or Stuart Gibbs fans. - Maureen