Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Ryan Quinn and the Rebel's Escape Cover Image
By Ron McGee, Chris Samnee (Illustrator)
$16.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Wow! What a page turner.  8th grader Ryan Quinn has no idea his parents are part of a super secret "underground Railroad"-type organization that operates in many of the world's most dangerous places.  And now, he must try to save both of them, with the help of some of his school friends.  I loved the way debut author McGee gets inside the head of his protaganist, as well as his technogeek friend Danny.  These characters ring true, the action in non-stop, and fans of adventure, spy thrillers and just plain fun will be eagerly awaiting the next installment.

— Maureen Palacios

Wow - what a page turner! 8th grader Ryan Quinn has no idea his parents are part of a super secret "Underground Railroad"-type organization that operates in many of the world's most dangerous places. And now he must try to save both of them, with the help of some of his school friends. I loved the way debut author McGee gets inside the head of his protaganist, as well as his technogeek friend Danny. These characters ring true, the action is non-stop and fans of adventure, spy thrillers and plain fun will be eagerly awaiting the next installment. - Maureen

— From Staff Picks by Maureen

Description


Ryan Quinn and the Rebel’s Escape is the first fast-paced, sensational novel in a trilogy about a New York City teenager who could give James Bond and Jason Bourne a run for their money. Fans of Alex Rider and the Spy School series will be completely enthralled.

Ryan Quinn hopes his traveling days are over. The son of a United Nations worker, he’s grown up in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, Africa—everywhere but home. He’s finally settled at a great school in New York and is making friends when, suddenly, his world is turned upside down.

Ryan is blindsided when his father disappears and his mother is abducted. Left with nothing but questions, he soon discovers his parents have been leading a double life. They actually work with the Emergency Rescue Committee, an underground organization that has performed dangerous rescue missions since World War II, and they’ve been secretly training Ryan to follow in their footsteps.

With his parents’ lives in the balance and more at stake than he knows, Ryan dives into a mission of international intrigue that sends him around the globe. To survive, he must trust his training and perform his own daring rescue mission in a thrilling race for freedom.

Don't miss this first book in Ron McGee’s high-stakes trilogy about Ryan Quinn.

About the Author


Ron McGee is a winner of the 2013 Children’s Long Form or Special Television Writers Guild of America Award for his work on Disney Channel’s Halloween hit Girl vs. Monster. A writer and producer of TV series, he has written for the crime drama Rizzoli & Isles and the action-adventure The Nine Lives of Chloe King. Ron has penned numerous movies for television, covering everything from the story of the boy band the Monkees to epic disasters to behind-the-scenes dramas of sitcom favorites Saved by the Bell and Full House. His debut novel was Ryan Quinn and the Rebel’s Escape. Ron lives with his family in California. You can find out more about what he’s up to at www.ronmcgee.com.

Praise For…


“With a fast pace, familiar characters, plenty of action, and little testing of the envelope, this trilogy opener is calculated to please genre fans.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“McGee’s debut novel offers readers a plot-driven and action-packed whirlwind tour around the world. Ideal for fans of Alex Rider and libraries with a large action fanbase.”
— School Library Journal

“Screenwriter McGee makes a strong debut with this engaging blend of adventure, humor, and espionage. It’s a fun, adrenaline-fueled story that lays the groundwork for a franchise with potential. ”
— Publishers Weekly

“A suspenseful, just-won’t-quit adventure thriller.”
— Ridley Pearson, author of the Kingdom Keepers series

“ . . . it’s a solid volume for readers looking for a fast-paced, nonstop adventure of derring-do.”
— Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062421647
ISBN-10: 0062421646
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 25th, 2016
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Ryan Quinn

How do you say thank you?

The Thank You Book Cover Image
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga Cover Image
Little Tree Cover Image
Sometimes Rain Cover Image
Leaves Cover Image
The Birchbark House Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

A stunning story of a boy and his dog captured in shades of blue. From the bright joy of a new puppy in baby blue to the steady love of a four-legged family member in sky blue. The boy and the puppy get older together and the colors help gently bring the story to its ending that is full of new blues. For intuitive readers ages 5 to 7. - Jessica