Popular Preorders

Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
$10.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Heart of Thorns series.


Description


This captivating second book in Bree Barton’s Heart of Thorns trilogy deftly explores the effects of power in a dark magical kingdom—and the fierce courage it takes to claim your body as your own. This feminist teen fantasy is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

Mia Rose is back from the dead. Her memories are hazy, her body numb—but she won’t stop searching. Her only hope to save the boy she loves and the sister who destroyed her is to find the mother she can never forgive.   

After her mother’s betrayal, Pilar is on a hunt of her own—to seek out the only person who can exact revenge. All goes according to plan until she collides with Prince Quin, the boy whose sister she killed.

As Mia, Pilar, and Quin forge dangerous new alliances, they are bewitched by the snow kingdom’s promise of freedom…but nothing is as it seems under the kingdom’s glimmering ice.

About the Author


Bree Barton is a writer in Los Angeles. When she’s not lost in whimsy, she works as a ghostwriter and dance teacher to teen girls. She is on Instagram and YouTube as Speak Breely, where she posts funny videos of her melancholy dog. Bree is not a fan of corsets.

Praise For…


“Magic and sisterhood intertwine in the high-stakes sequel to Heart of Thorns. A thoughtful examination of agency, female empowerment, and the history of magic.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A fantastical feminist fairy tale. Full of love, mystery, sisterhood, and severed hands, Heart of Thorns casts a fierce and magical spell.” 
— Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

“A compulsively readable fantasy.”
Booklist

“Barton weaves a girl-powered tale of love, family, and self-acceptance, and readers who appreciate fast paced, high-stakes fantasy will be ensnared by Mia’s adventures. Those looking for rich world-building will also find much to love. A must-buy for any library where fantasy is popular.”
— School Library Journal

“[An] evocative, epic ode to feminism, magic, and the wonder of fairy tales... A gripping, complex narrative balances emotion and logic in this trilogy opener, while vividly crafted characters and cinematic details create a world readers will want to get lost in.”
Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062447722
ISBN-10: 0062447726
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: December 1st, 2020
Pages: 496
Language: English
Series: Heart of Thorns

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

This book is a true treasure. This book has become one of our store's staples, and it is not only iconic, but presents a fantastic message about loving yourself just as you are, however that may be! Kelp the unicorn lives under the sea with his narwhal family, feeling quite at home and assuming he is just like them. But one day Kelp sees someone just like him—a land narwhal!! (unicorn!)—and Kelp becomes keenly aware that he is a bit different from everyone else. Kelp takes a journey of self-acceptance, and learns that you can be part of more than one world and still be loved for who you are. A picture book masterpiece!!!

Be sure to check out Jessie Sima's other books and follow her work as obsessively as I do! Check out Harriet Gets Carried Away, Love Z, Spencer's New Pet, and pre-order Jules Vs. The Ocean!!

(Picture Book) - reviewed by Isabel