Popular Preorders

The Beckoning Shadow (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Beckoning Shadow Cover Image
$17.99
Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Kick ass heroine with magic powers to bring about your worst fears and a get-rich tournament of Oddities that promises more than just an ordinary death........this is the lightning fast paced but hearfelt Beckoning Shadow. Be ready to stay up, working out your best MMA moves with Vesper, Sam and the crew at Duncan's as you find family, love and ultimately acceptance. Strong writing from debut Blair. - reviewed by Maureen

— From Book Launch Party for The Beckoning Shadow by Katharyn Blair

Description


From debut author Katharyn Blair comes a heart-stopping fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and The Young Elites, about a teenage runaway who enters a dangerous tournament with an impossible prize.

Vesper Montgomery can summon your worst fear and turn it into a reality—but she’s learned the hard way that it’s an addicting and dangerous power. One wrong move and you could hurt someone you love.

But when she earns a spot in the Tournament of the Unraveling, where competitors battle it out for a chance to rewrite the past, Vesper finally has a shot to reverse the mistakes that have changed her forever.

She turns to Sam Hardy, a former MMA fighter who’s also carrying a tragedy he desperately wants to undo. However, helping heal Sam’s heart will mean breaking her own, and the competition forces her to master her powers—powers she has been terrified of since they destroyed her life.

About the Author


Katharyn Blair is a novelist and screenwriter. She graduated with her MFA in 2015 and is finishing her MA in literature. She’s been a social media coordinator for several films at 20th Century Fox, an intern at her city’s Parks and Recreation Department, a gymnastics coach, and, most recently, a writing professor at Azusa Pacific University. She lives outside of Los Angeles with her family. The Beckoning Shadow is her debut novel.

Praise For…


★“An extraordinary debut packed with richly drawn characters in a sure-to-entertain storyline.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★“Interweaving excellent worldbuilding with the uncertainties of discipline, friendship, and taking ownership of one’s decisions, Blair’s debut will entrance and delight in equal measure.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This story of magic, hope, death, friendship, and family...offer[s] a taste of the mystical, a great voice and dialogue, and well-written questions that address teen angst.”
— School Library Journal

“Blair provides plenty of action, twists, and duplicity as the story unfolds, incorporating a complicated romance and even discussion of religion along the way.”
— ALA Booklist

“Part fantasy, part battle royale, this gripping novel builds on the well-loved trope of mutant outcasts with unexplained powers but adds a worthy gladiatorial spin.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

The Beckoning Shadow is a fast-paced, exciting debut with an awesome girl protagonist! I rooted for Vesper as she smashed her way through this vividly imagined story, and was left hoping for more!”
— S.J. Kincaid, New York Times bestselling author of The Diabolic

“An absolutely riveting, supercharged story set against a world of secretive and thoroughly badass magic-wielders. I adored Vesper for her toughness and vulnerable heart—I dare you not to fall for her, too.”
— Lana Popoviç, author of Fierce like a Firestorm


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062657619
ISBN-10: 0062657615
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 2nd, 2019
Pages: 480
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

I had such a BLAST with this book. This book is an oral history of a hugely-popular fictional rock band from the 70s--which, by the end of the book, you can hardly believe isn't a real band!! This book is so darn comfortable to sink into, and it’s so weirdly entertaining to watch this band have all of its meltdowns and successes, all its failures and triumphs. You get to know each of these characters and their quirks so well that by the time Daisy Jones and the Six are performing onstage, you feel like you're right there in the audience as a fan. You get to be part of all the moments that make a rock band go down in history… What a blast!!

Truly, the only problem I have with this book is that there isn't a Daisy Jones and the Six album to listen to along with it.....

(Adult Fiction) - reviewed by Isabel