Everyone Gets A Book A catalog of recommendations from your local independent bookstore

Popular Preorders

The Beckoning Shadow (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Beckoning Shadow Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
6 on hand, as of Dec 10 6:15am
(YA)

Staff Reviews


Kick ass heroine with magic powers to bring about your worst fears and a get-rich tournament of Oddities that promises more than just an ordinary death........this is the lightning fast paced but hearfelt Beckoning Shadow. Be ready to stay up, working out your best MMA moves with Vesper, Sam and the crew at Duncan's as you find family, love and ultimately acceptance. Strong writing from debut Blair. - reviewed by Maureen

— From Book Launch Party for The Beckoning Shadow by Katharyn Blair

Description


From debut author Katharyn Blair comes a heart-stopping fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and The Young Elites, about a teenage runaway who enters a dangerous tournament with an impossible prize.

Vesper Montgomery can summon your worst fear and turn it into a reality—but she’s learned the hard way that it’s an addicting and dangerous power. One wrong move and you could hurt someone you love.

But when she earns a spot in the Tournament of the Unraveling, where competitors battle it out for a chance to rewrite the past, Vesper finally has a shot to reverse the mistakes that have changed her forever.

She turns to Sam Hardy, a former MMA fighter who’s also carrying a tragedy he desperately wants to undo. However, helping heal Sam’s heart will mean breaking her own, and the competition forces her to master her powers—powers she has been terrified of since they destroyed her life.

About the Author


Katharyn Blair is a novelist and screenwriter. She graduated with her MFA in 2015 and is finishing her MA in literature. She’s been a social media coordinator for several films at 20th Century Fox, an intern at her city’s Parks and Recreation Department, a gymnastics coach, and, most recently, a writing professor at Azusa Pacific University. She lives outside of Los Angeles with her family. The Beckoning Shadow is her debut novel.

Praise For…


★“An extraordinary debut packed with richly drawn characters in a sure-to-entertain storyline.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★“Interweaving excellent worldbuilding with the uncertainties of discipline, friendship, and taking ownership of one’s decisions, Blair’s debut will entrance and delight in equal measure.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This story of magic, hope, death, friendship, and family...offer[s] a taste of the mystical, a great voice and dialogue, and well-written questions that address teen angst.”
— School Library Journal

“Blair provides plenty of action, twists, and duplicity as the story unfolds, incorporating a complicated romance and even discussion of religion along the way.”
— ALA Booklist

“Part fantasy, part battle royale, this gripping novel builds on the well-loved trope of mutant outcasts with unexplained powers but adds a worthy gladiatorial spin.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

The Beckoning Shadow is a fast-paced, exciting debut with an awesome girl protagonist! I rooted for Vesper as she smashed her way through this vividly imagined story, and was left hoping for more!”
— S.J. Kincaid, New York Times bestselling author of The Diabolic

“An absolutely riveting, supercharged story set against a world of secretive and thoroughly badass magic-wielders. I adored Vesper for her toughness and vulnerable heart—I dare you not to fall for her, too.”
— Lana Popoviç, author of Fierce like a Firestorm


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062657619
ISBN-10: 0062657615
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 2nd, 2019
Pages: 480
Language: English

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Legacy (Keeper of the Lost Cities #8) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Zivah is a healer forced to use her knowledge to hurt others and Dineas is a fighter who must now make friends with the enemy. Together, the two teens suffering at the hands of an empire are forced to set aside their differences in order to fight the enemy that surrounds them. A deep look at the ways war changes both individuals and culture. Livia is able to show a fantasy world that is sure to capture teen readers who are willing to engage in tough questions. These characters are rich with detail and complexity that will draw in fans of An Ember in the Ashes- Jessica