Popular Preorders

Miss Meteor (Hardcover)

Miss Meteor Cover Image
$17.99
Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A gorgeous and magical collaboration between two critically acclaimed, powerhouse YA authors offers a richly imagined underdog story perfect for fans of Dumplin’ and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

There hasn’t been a winner of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant who looks like Lita Perez or Chicky Quintanilla in all its history.

But that’s not the only reason Lita wants to enter the contest, or her ex-best friend Chicky wants to help her. The road to becoming Miss Meteor isn’t about being perfect; it’s about sharing who you are with the world—and loving the parts of yourself no one else understands.

So to pull off the unlikeliest underdog story in pageant history, Lita and Chicky are going to have to forget the past and imagine a future where girls like them are more than enough—they are everything.

About the Author


Tehlor Kay Mejia is the author of the critically acclaimed young adult fantasy novel We Set the Dark on Fire as well as its sequel, We Unleash the Merciless Storm; Miss Meteor (co-written with National Book Award nominee Anna-Marie McLemore); and her middle grade debut, Paola Santiago and the River of Tears.

Her debut novel received six starred reviews and was chosen as an Indie Next Pick and a Junior Library Guild selection, as well as being an IndieBound bestseller in the Pacific Northwest region. It has been featured in Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and O The Oprah Magazine and named a best book of 2019 by Kirkus and School Library Journal.

Tehlor lives in Oregon with her daughter, two very small dogs, and several rescued houseplants.



Anna-Marie McLemore (they/them) was born in the foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains and taught by their family to hear la llorona in the Santa Ana winds. Anna-Marie is the author of The Weight of Feathers, a finalist for the 2016 William C. Morris Debut Award; 2017 Stonewall Honor Book When the Moon Was Ours, which was longlisted for the National Book Award in Young People’s Literature and winner of the James Tiptree Jr. Award; Wild Beauty, a Kirkus Best Book of 2017; and Blanca & Roja, a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice. Dark and Deepest Red, a reimagining of “The Red Shoes” based on true medieval events, will be released in January 2020

Praise For…


“Teaming these two YA powerhouse writers up on a super-fun, super-queer underdog story is brilliant! Readers will be rooting for the protagonists to win the Miss Meteor pageant the whole way through.”
— Ms. magazine

"A love letter to the misfits who have been scared to let their stardust shine."
Kirkus Reviews

"McLemore and Mejia tell a warmly inclusive story rooted in the bonds of family and in female friendship. For anyone who's ever felt like an outsider, this joyful #OwnVoices tale will fill a void."
Booklist

"This complex tale packs a lot into its space, and while the novel is sure to resonate with any kid who feels like an outcast and any reader who loved Murphy’s Dumplin’, it’s especially salient for those in the Latinx, queer, and economically disadvantaged communities."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"A genre-bending friendship story complete with aliens and beauty pageants...filled with humor and fresh dialogue."
— Shelf Awareness

“...Readers will be drawn into this story of an unlikely beauty queen."
— The Horn Book

“A unique and beautifully penned story, Miss Meteor belongs to the dreamers and the outsiders in this world who will find that they will always have a safe haven with the right people and that they can change the world, one beauty pageant at a time.” 
— The Nerd Daily

"A luminous romp of a book that is both hilarious and tender. Mejia and McLemore have gifted us with a story that celebrates the eternal power of friendship."
— Abdi Nazemian, author of the Stonewall Honor-winning Like a Love Story

“A hilarious and heartfelt love letter in sparkling stardust prose to the outcasts who feel like they're from another planet.” 
— Lily Anderson, author of Undead Girl Gang

“Some books you read with your heart—and this is one of them. Written with compassion, honesty, and humor, Miss Meteor is magical.”
— Shaun David Hutchinson, award-winning author of We Are the Ants, The State of Us, and Brave Face: A Memoir


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062869913
ISBN-10: 0062869914
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2020
Pages: 400
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

A beautiful story linking music, math, and culture through illustration and problem solving. A great addition to any classroom eager to introduce numbers with a clever character, bright art, and plentiful back matter information. - Review by Jessica