Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Fishy Faire (Paperback)

Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Fishy Faire By PJ Gardner, David Mottram (Illustrator) Cover Image

Horace & Bunwinkle: The Case of the Fishy Faire (Paperback)

By PJ Gardner, David Mottram (Illustrator)

$9.99


Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of May 24 4:35pm
(8-12)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Horace & Bunwinkle series.

The final book in a young middle grade mystery-adventure series about Horace, an anxious Boston Terrier, and Bunwinkle, an exuberant potbellied pig, who team up to solve crimes in their barnyard and neighborhood.

In this third mystery, the pet-tective duo must solve a series of crimes at the local Renaissance Faire. Perfect for fans of Mercy Watson, The Trouble with Chickens, and A Boy Called Bat!

Life is never quiet at the Homestead. First, it was disappearing animals, then a power-hungry dairy queen. Now it’s a Renaissance Faire, a noisy, stinky spectacle that drives Horace to distraction. Bunwinkle, on the other hand, can’t get enough of the festivities—she loves the thrilling jousts, the court intrigue…and especially the pickles on a stick.

But when Eleanor and Clary’s ice cream buckets are stolen and several of the food stalls are vandalized, it’s clear that there’s something fishy going on at the faire. And suddenly the pet-tectives find themselves with a new case on their hands.

One thing’s for certain: There’s no shortage of suspects. From Wendell, the nosy vegetable vendor, to Dean, the alpaca farmer who’s been getting a bit too close to Eleanor, to Uta Hawken, a Shakespeare-spouting red-tailed hawk, the culprit could be anyone. 

Can the pet-tectives solve this royally tough case before the faire is ruined…or worse?

PJ Gardner is the author of the middle grade Horace & Bunwinkle series. She lives in Southern California with her husband and sons as well as her Boston terriers, Rosie and Rocky. Visit her at pjgardnerswitzer.com.



David Mottram is a full-time illustrator living in Ohio. His previous books include The New Kitten, Wordy Birdy, and Mighty Tug. Dave enjoys family adventures with his wife, daughter, and Gracie the black lab.


Product Details ISBN: 9780062946614
ISBN-10: 0062946617
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 192
Language: English
Series: Horace & Bunwinkle

Praise for Horace & Bunwinkle: “Gardner’s debut tale of mystery and (eventual) bucolic bliss brings to mind Joan Carris and Noah Z. Jones’ Bed & Biscuit series. Graduates of the Mercy Watson books will also feel right at home. Mottram’s occasional illustrations just add to the charm….This kicks off a series, and readers will be glad to know that this piggie and pooch will pair up again.” — Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR Horace & Bunwinkle: "I know a thing or two about animals who investigate mysteries, and Horace and Bunwinkle have what it takes, doing so with pluck and charm. Kids will be delighted by the curiosity and caring natures of these adorable, adoptive, crime-solving siblings!" — John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling writer and artist of InvestiGators

PRAISE FOR Horace & Bunwinkle: “Horace and Bunwinkle are a delightful pair. Sweet and funny, their antics will keep young readers eagerly turning the page.” — Suzanne Selfors, bestselling author of Wedgie & Gizmo and The Imaginary Veterinary Series

PRAISE FOR Horace & Bunwinkle: “Meet Horace and Bunwinkle, two unlikely friends and Pet-tectives! This funny, charming duo will leave readers eager for more.” — Bobbie Pyron, author of the award-winning A Dog’s Way Home and critically acclaimed Stay