Popular Preorders

Weird Kid (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Weird Kid Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb.

Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.

Keeping his powers in check is crucial, though, if he wants to live a normal life and go to middle school instead of being homeschooled (and if he wants to avoid being kidnapped and experimented on, of course).

Things feel like they’re going his way when he survives his first day of school without transforming and makes a new friend. But when mysterious sinkholes start popping up around town—sinkholes filled with the same extraterrestrial substance as Jake—and his neighbors, classmates, and even his family start acting a little, well, weird, Jake will have to learn to use his powers in order to save his town. 

About the Author


Greg van Eekhout lives in San Diego, California, with his astronomy/physics professor wife and two dogs. He’s worked as an educational software developer, ice-cream scooper, part-time college instructor, and telemarketer. Being a writer is the only job he’s ever actually liked. You can find more about Greg at his website: www.writingandsnacks.com.

Praise For…


“A wacky, witty, action-packed alien adventure with a poignant message about being your best self.”
— John David Anderson, author of Posted

“Greg van Eekhout brings magic, mystery, humor, and weird science to his wonderful WEIRD KID! Devious and fun –and highly recommended!” 

— Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin 

"No one mixes gonzo with heartfelt like Greg van Eekhout. Amid wacky aliens, secret organizations, and larger-than-life guitar solos, is one kid just trying to figure out who he is. I was rooting for Jake on every page, and you will be, too!"
— Jenn Reese, author of A Game of Fox & Squirrels

Praise for Cog: “A page-turning novel of friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Cog is a gem of a robot, and his robotic observations are comedic gold. Readers will be charmed by this sci-fi tale of free choice, hot dogs, and fun word problems.”
Booklist

“Van Eekhout brings considerable heart and wisdom to this coming-of-age tale. A thought-provoking tale for younger readers about hubris and what it means to be human.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Voyage of the Dogs: “Fast-moving, funny, and suspenseful. A deep-space furry adventure with heart and humor.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Who’s a good boy? Lopside and the canine crew of the starship Laika! This dogs in space romp will make you sit up and beg for more.”
— Alan Gratz, New York Times bestselling author of Refugee

“A crackling page-turner about courage and wonder, full of warmth and heart and characters who jump off the page. It’s my favorite book of the year.”
— Rae Carson, New York Times  bestselling author of the Girl of Fire & Thorns series

“Dogs in space? Who knew we needed that? But Greg van Eekhout proves we did! Voyage of the Dogs  is a delight, and kids are going to love it.”
— Spencer Quinn, New York Times  bestselling author of Woof

“Dog-lovers and space enthusiasts will gravitate to Van Eekhout’s riveting book.”
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062970602
ISBN-10: 0062970607
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 20th, 2021
Pages: 208
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

I enjoyed the book although it's not one I would have selected on my own.  Especially for a debut novel I thought it was well done and engaging. I can't attest to the historical accuracy of the book's premise (yes, I know it's historical fiction). Over-all I would recommend it to anyone looking for an easy, entertaining read for beachside (when beaches reopen) or for a weekend of relaxation even if it's in your own backyard. There were moments where I thought the perspectives of the protagonist - Anita (The Woman in Red) - stemmed from our 21st century experiences as opposed to how the setting might have been perceived in the time period of the book, but this wasn't so distracting that it ruined the novel. On an entirely positive note, I would say that one place where most novels fail for me is the ending - too many novels are either entirely predictable or feel rushed and hurried as if trying to tie up all the loose ends. I was not expecting the outcome at the end of The Woman in Red

Overall I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars . It was a respectable first novel from Diana Giovinazzo, with an engaging story line that was enjoyably uncomplicated yet intriguing, a likeable protagonist, and a surprise ending.

- reviewed by Diane, customer