Popular Preorders

Chunky (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Chunky Cover Image
By Yehudi Mercado, Yehudi Mercado (Illustrator)
$12.99
Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of Jun 23 4:33am
(Graphic Novels)

Staff Reviews


What a joyful read! While tackling very real topics, such as social expectations of people's bodies, cultural identity, and challenging family dynamics, "Chunky" uses a delightful play-by-play sports casting style throughout the book that truly engages the reader in Yehudi Mercado's journey. Yehudi and his imaginary mascot Chunky take the reader through the meandering explorations of growing up, from the things you choose to explore yourself to the things others force you to explore, but recognizing your truth nonetheless.

(Graphic Novel, Ages 8+)

— From Staff Picks by Isabel

Readers will become a #1 fan of Chunky! Hudi doesn't see anything wrong with himself, but his doctors and parents want him to participate in sports in order to loose weight. With humor and a cheering imaginary mascot, Hudi takes on the challenge from baseball to soccer, swimming and football. With post-game interviews and play-by-play action, this is fun look at real issues involving body image, peer pressure, and being a team player. For ages 10 +. 

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

Description


In this full-color middle grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working class Mexican-Jewish family.

Hudi needs to lose weight, according to his doctors. Concerned about the serious medical issue Hudi had when he was younger, his parents push him to try out for sports. Hudi would rather do anything else, but then he meets Chunky, his imaginary friend and mascot. Together, they decide to give baseball a shot. 

As the only Mexican and Jewish kid in his neighborhood, Hudi has found the cheerleader he never had. Baseball doesn’t go well (unless getting hit by the ball counts), but the two friends have a great time drawing and making jokes. While Hudi’s parents keep trying to find the right sport for Hudi, Chunky encourages him to pursue his true love—comedy.

But when Hudi’s dad loses his job, it gets harder for Hudi to chart his own course, even with Chunky’s guidance. Can Chunky help Hudi stay true to himself or will this friendship strike out?

About the Author


Yehudi Mercado is a former pizza delivery driver and art director for Disney Interactive. He is currently a writer-artist-animator living in Los Angeles. His books include Sci-Fu, Hero Hotel, Rocket Salvage, and Fun Fun Fun World. He is currently show running the Hero Hotel podcast and writing and directing an original animated short for Nickelodeon. You can find him at www.supermercado.pizza.



Yehudi Mercado is a former pizza delivery driver and art director for Disney Interactive. He is currently a writer-artist-animator living in Los Angeles. His books include Sci-Fu, Hero Hotel, Rocket Salvage, and Fun Fun Fun World. He is currently show running the Hero Hotel podcast and writing and directing an original animated short for Nickelodeon. You can find him at www.supermercado.pizza.

Praise For…


"Relatable insights into the life of a child who is eager to fit in but also coming into his sense of self, sometimes with the help of adults and sometimes in spite of them. A compelling coming-of-age memoir."
— School Library Journal (starred review)

"Hudi’s a master at deflecting his shaky self-esteem with zingy one-liners. The digital artwork and sports scenarios play for laughs. Mercado notes in closing remarks, “Being ‘Chunky’ isn’t about being fat. Being Chunky is about feeling like you don’t fit in.” And that’s a theme plenty of middle graders can relate to."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"As good-natured a romp as its highly appealing main character. The art evokes a light tone with simple, effective characteristics. A swift, funny tale."
Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062972781
ISBN-10: 0062972782
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: June 22nd, 2021
Pages: 208
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

I had such a BLAST with this book. This book is an oral history of a hugely-popular fictional rock band from the 70s--which, by the end of the book, you can hardly believe isn't a real band!! This book is so darn comfortable to sink into, and it’s so weirdly entertaining to watch this band have all of its meltdowns and successes, all its failures and triumphs. You get to know each of these characters and their quirks so well that by the time Daisy Jones and the Six are performing onstage, you feel like you're right there in the audience as a fan. You get to be part of all the moments that make a rock band go down in history… What a blast!!

Truly, the only problem I have with this book is that there isn't a Daisy Jones and the Six album to listen to along with it.....

(Adult Fiction) - reviewed by Isabel