Popular Preorders

The Edge of Nowhere (Paperback)

The Edge of Nowhere Cover Image
Not available
Not Available to Order - Hard to Find

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Edge of Nowhere series.


Fall '12 Kids List


“Becca King can hear whispers -- snippets of other people's thoughts that weave into her mind in occasionally dangerous ways. It's because of this ability that she finds herself stranded on remote Whidbey Island, hiding from her stepfather and involved in a mystery that shakes her new community. George brings her tremendous talents to YA for the first time, and this creepy, romantic mystery has just a hint of the paranormal and a fabulously lush Pacific-Northwest setting. Becca's story is magically addictive -- I can't wait for the next installment!”
— Hannah Manshel, 57th Street Books, Chicago, IL

Description


The Edgar and Agatha Award-nominated novel from #1 New York Times bestseller Elizabeth George!

On Whidbey Island, nothing is as it seems. Becca's ability to hear "whispers"—the thoughts of others—has put her at risk from her criminal stepfather. So Becca escapes to Whidbey Island, where she hopes to find safety. But when a terrible accident affects everyone on the island, Becca finds herself wrapped up in a complicated situation, and she isn't the only one with a secret.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance.

"Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre." —USATODAY.com

"George has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel." —Suspense Magazine

An Edgar Award Nominee
An Agatha Award Nominee 

About the Author


Elizabeth George, described by Entertainment Weekly as “the queen of the mystery genre,” is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley. Her books are known for complex plotting, elegant writing, and well-developed characters, all of which she also brings to her novels for teens.

The first book in the Whidbey Island saga, The Edge of Nowhere, was a finalist for both the Edgar and Agatha Awards. The second book, The Edge of the Water, and the third, The Edge of the Shadows, continue the story in the island setting, which is notable for its beauty and mystery.

Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island.  She says, “Whidbey Island deserves to be ‘someone’ in a story.  I only hope I’ve done it justice."

Visit Elizabeth George at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com.

Praise For…


"Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre." —USATODAY.com

"George has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel...the writing is superb." —Suspense Magazine

"The atmosphere of rich introspection gives this series opener strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin." —BCCB

"This novel explores what people can learn about each other when they look past behavior and consider the thoughts that drive it." —LMC

"George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." —SLJ


Product Details
ISBN: 9780142426753
ISBN-10: 014242675X
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: January 7th, 2014
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: The Edge of Nowhere

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

It’s always hard to wait for the next Charles Lenox mystery to come out, and they keep getting better all the time.  In this one, a man’s body is found one night in 1855 on the last train into Paddington Station, but he has no identification, luggage, or possessions and the labels are cut out of his clothes.  Where does detective Lenox start?  At the same time, Lenox is hoping that his relationship with Kitty Ashbrook will deepen.  Finch’s characters are so engaging and show all the foibles of human nature, and his Victorian London setting is as delightful as ever—you can practically taste the tea and toast and feel the creeping mists. - reviewed by Nikki