Inventory Details

Titles marked "On our shelves now" are on the shelf at Once Upon a Time in Montrose. You can choose to pick up the item at the store or we can ship it for you.

Titles marked "Ships in 1-5 days" are NOT in our store currently but can be fulfilled from our local warehouse depending on availability. 

Title marked "Special Order" are NOT in our store currently, and our experience shows, they are usually out of print or otherwise unavailable. 

Find out more about our online inventory here

The Hundred-Year House (Paperback)

The Hundred-Year House Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The acclaimed author of The Borrower returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield.
Rebecca Makkai is a writer to watch, as sneakily ambitious as she is unpretentious."
Richard Russo
Meet the Devohrs: Zee, a Marxist literary scholar who detests her parents wealth but nevertheless finds herself living in their carriage house; Gracie, her mother, who claims she can tell your lot in life by looking at your teeth; and Bruce, her step-father, stockpiling supplies for the Y2K apocalypse and perpetually late for his tee time. Then there's Violet Devohr, Zee's great-grandmother, who they say took her own life somewhere in the vast house, and whose massive oil portrait still hangs in the dining room.
Violet's portrait was known to terrify the artists who resided at the house from the 1920s to the 1950s, when it served as the Laurelfield Arts Colony and this is exactly the period Zee's husband, Doug, is interested in. An out-of-work academic whose only hope of a future position is securing a book deal, Doug is stalled on his biography of the poet Edwin Parfitt, once in residence at the colony. All he needs to get the book back on track besides some motivation and self-esteem is access to the colony records, rotting away in the attic for decades. But when Doug begins to poke around where he shouldn t, he finds Gracie guards the files with a strange ferocity, raising questions about what she might be hiding. The secrets of the hundred-year house would turn everything Doug and Zee think they know about her family on its head that is, if they were to ever uncover them.
In this brilliantly conceived, ambitious, and deeply rewarding novel, Rebecca Makkai unfolds a generational saga in reverse, leading the reader back in time on a literary scavenger hunt as we seek to uncover the truth about these strange people and this mysterious house. With intelligence and humor, a daring narrative approach, and a lovingly satirical voice, Rebecca Makkai has crafted an unforgettable novel about family, fate and the incredible surprises life can offer.
For readers of Dodie Smith'sI Capture the Castle

About the Author


Rebecca Makkaiis the author of the acclaimed novelsThe Hundred-Year HouseandThe Borrower, an Indie Next pick, anO, The Oprah MagazineFall Reading selection, aBooklistTop Ten Debut, and one ofChicago Magazine's choices for best fiction of 2011. Her work has appeared inThe Best American Short Stories(2011, 2010, 2009 and 2008), Best American Nonrequired Reading, Harper's, McSweeney's, Tin House, Ploughshares, Iowa Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, andNew England Review, among others, and has aired on "This American Life." She lives outside Chicago with her husband and two daughters."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143127444
ISBN-10: 0143127446
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

For fantasy fans who want a more historical tale, or historical fiction buffs who want something a little more fantastical this genre-bending book is the perfect choice! It follows Lee Westfall, a young woman living in 19th century Georgia who has a secret: she is a gold diviner. When tragedy strikes her family, her only option for escape and opportunity seems to be joining a wagon trail west to strike it rich in California’s gold rush. But the journey is more harrowing than she can imagine… she must disguise herself as a boy and face all manner of tribulations on the trail. This book is incredibly engrossing… not only is the story suspenseful, but the characters and fantastical elements are portrayed in such an intimate way it feels almost like reading real history. - Linnea