Popular Preorders

A Stranger in Mayfair: A Mystery (Charles Lenox Mysteries #4) (Paperback)

A Stranger in Mayfair: A Mystery (Charles Lenox Mysteries #4) Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Feb 18 2:15pm
(Mystery-Adult)


Description


In this enthralling mystery, detective Charles Lenox tries to resist the lure of a case and focus on his new career in Parliament.

Returning from a continental honeymoon with his new wife, Lady Jane, Lenox is asked by a colleague in Parliament to consult in the murder of a footman, bludgeoned to death with a brick. His investigation uncovers some unsettling facts about the family he served and a strange, second identity that the footman himself cultivated.

Going into the boxing clubs and public houses, the Mayfair mansions and servants' quarters of Victorian London, Lenox gradually realizes that an old friend may be implicated in the footman's death. Soon a suspect is arrested, but Lenox has his doubts. Desperately trying to balance the opening of Parliament and what he feels sure is a dark secret surrounding the murder, he soon discovers that the killer is someone seemingly beyond suspicion, and may be prepared to spill blood again—even a detective's.

About the Author


Charles Finch is the USA Today bestselling author of the Charles Lenox historical mysteries, which begin with A Beautiful Blue Death. His contemporary novel The Last Enchantments, is also available from St. Martin's Press.

Finch received the 2017 Nona Balakian Citation Award, for excellence in reviewing, from the National Book Critics Circle. His essays and criticism have appeared in the New York Times, Slate, Washington Post, and elsewhere. He lives in Los Angeles.

Praise For…


“An absolute delight . . . Finch vividly brings 1860s London to life.” —USA Today

“Readers of Anne Perry should be snatching up Finch's books and clamoring for more.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“Perfect for fans of Lord Peter Wimsey.” —The Wichita Eagle

“A beguiling Victorian mystery.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review on The Fleet Street Murders

“The best sort of historical mystery--clever, charming, full of period detail, and a delight to read.” —David Liss, author of The Devil's Company, on A Beautiful Blue Death



Product Details
ISBN: 9780312616953
ISBN-10: 0312616953
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: July 19th, 2011
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Charles Lenox Mysteries

Love is a new book!

Staff Pick Badge
Love, Z Cover Image
Nobody Hugs a Cactus Cover Image
I Love You, Baby Shark: Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo  Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Prince and the Dressmaker Cover Image
P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before #2) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Frankly in Love Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

With a gentleness of wit, emotion and spot-on humor, Schmidt brings to life 6th grader Carter Jones as he navigates a tough time in his life, with the help of one Mr. Bowles-Fitzpatrick, who drives an eggplant-hued Bentley and gives advice, both needed and not wanted, as the Jones' family new butler. Interspersed with cricket references - "the finest game in the world" - wonderful and enlightened vocabulary fit for a proper gentleman, Schmidt tackles grief and abandonment with his signature insight, lightness and heart. As the butler says to his charges "make good decisions and remember who you are" -- Carter Jones' story will stay with you for a very long time. Highly recommended! - Maureen