Popular Preorders

Bad Luck (The Bad Books #2) (Paperback)

Bad Luck (The Bad Books #2) Cover Image
$8.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Bad Books series.


Description


The plot thickens in this New York Times-bestselling sequel to Bad Magic--now in paperback!

Some people have all the luck.

Unfortunately, Clay isn't one of them: He's the only camper at Earth Ranch without a magical talent. As if feeling totally useless isn't enough, Clay has to figure out what to do about Brett, a castaway boy who has just washed ashore and is determined to keep his presence a secret. Even as Clay helps his new friend hide in the remote volcanic island's wilderness, another fiery mystery begins to emerge, with all signs pointing to the impossible idea that dragons once roamed the island...and may still. Can Clay and his friends turn their luck around in time to uncover Price Island's secrets--and save it from a scorching end?

Danger, adventure, mischief, mystery, old foes, new friends, and a delightfully elusive narrator make bestselling author Pseudonymous Bosch's latest novel completely irresistible.

About the Author


Pseudonymous Bosch is the infamously anonymous author of the New York Times bestselling Secret Series and the Bad Books. Despite rumors to the contrary, his books are not actually written by his pet rabbit, Quiche; the rabbit is merely his typist.

Praise For…


"Bosch fans will be thrilled at the reappearance of characters from his Secret Series, but the good fun and solid adventure will delight new readers just the same. ...An excellent addition to middle grade collections."—School Library Journal

"Bosch's humorous, intrusive narration is liberally applied to this engaging adventure...Readers will be thoroughly entertained by this second installment in the Bad Books series."—Booklist

Praise for Bad Magic:
"Bosch employs, to great effect, his signature irreverence and hilarity... a delight to read. Bad Magic is a clever and playful novel. An excellent addition to middle grade fiction collections."—School Library Journal

"Enjoyable... Bosch's arch narrative voice carries over from his previous books...From The Tempest and Lord of the Flies to shows like Gilligan's Island and Lost, cultural allusions abound as Clay tries to understand the island's many mysteries and meets his fellow campers. Gilbert's watercolors bring in additional humor."—Publishers Weekly

"...Bosch's mix of slapstick silliness, sly authorial asides, and magical adventure will appeal to readers of Lemony Snicket and M. T. Anderson's Pals in Peril series."—Booklist

"[Bad Magic] contains threads of mystery, magic, word games, and snark... It is suspenseful, humorous, clever, and most importantly, fun. Bad Magic is definitely entertaining for a wide range of readers."—Voya


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316320443
ISBN-10: 0316320447
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 17th, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: The Bad Books

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Strange Birds: A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Oh, boy... I'm getting emotional as I write this because... I love this book... SO. MUCH. I LOVE this book with alll my heart... OH MY GOSH heart.

In The Song of Achilles, we get to see a retelling of the Trojan War from the perspective of young prince Patroclus, but what unfolds is a love story between Patroclus and the legendary Achilles that will sweep you away, steal your heart, and make you ache witht he best pain imaginable.

I literally re-read this book every fre months. IF you want a hauntingly beautiful book that will fill you with joy and heartach and last you a lifetime, this is it. I owe Madeline Miller my life. - Isabel