Popular Preorders

Just Pretend (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Just Pretend Cover Image
$12.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Fans of Real Friends and Be Prepared will love this energetic, affecting graphic memoir, in which a young girl uses her active imagination to navigate middle school as well as the fallout from her parents' divorce. 
 Tori has never lived in just one world. Since her parents' divorce, she's lived in both her mom's house and her dad's new apartment. And in both places, no matter how hard she tries, her family still treats her like a little kid. Then there's school, where friendships old and new are starting to feel more and more out of her hands. Thankfully, she has books-and writing. And now the stories she makes up in her head just might save her when everything else around her—friendships, school, family—is falling apart. Author Tori Sharp takes us with her on a journey through the many commonplace but complex issues of fractured families, as well as the beautiful fantasy narrative that helps her cope, gorgeously illustrated and full of magic, fairies, witches and lost and found friendships. 

About the Author


Tori Sharp is a Seattle-based author-illustrator and swing and blues dancer with a BFA in sequential art from SCAD. You can find her online at www.noveltori.com and on Twitter @noveltori. Just Pretend is her debut graphic novel.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316538855
ISBN-10: 031653885X
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 18th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Welcome to Doodleville, everyone!!! This beloved author, Chad Sell, brings us to his next fabulous graphic novel, Doodleville, which grabs the reader, heart and soul!! Doodleville brings us into a normal school, to a normal group of kids, in a normal art club.....except that these kids' doodles come alive!!! Drew loves her doodles dearly, but when one of her doodles goes rogue and hurts the other student's characters, she is wisked away on an adventure that teaches her so much: the complexities of friendship, the strength that lies in trusting yourself, and the power of working together with friends that can save the day!! Chad Sell's trademark combo of fun, vibrant artwork and deeply emotional and human storytelling makes you smile throughout, and reminds you that "being different can make you powerful." Sell's work is also a perfect example of representation as it should be: people of all types existing together, just like in real life. And while having a blast visiting Doodleville, you may even learn a bit of art history! No matter what, you'll surely be smiling till the very last page.
 
 
(Graphic Novel, Ages 8+) - reviewed by Isabel