Popular Preorders

Emmy in the Key of Code (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Emmy in the Key of Code Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
7 on hand, as of Oct 23 2:01pm
(12)

Staff Reviews


Coding, music, and poetry all beautifully come together in this middle-grade novel about a girl who loves music but isn't a musician. When she starts at a new school she stumbles upon the unlikely instrument of computers and friendship. This is an approachable story for readers ages 10 to 13 with a helpful glossary of words defined in the back. 

- From Staff Picks by Jessica

— Jessica

Coding, music, and poetry all beautifully come together in this middle-grade novel about a girl who loves music but isn't a musician. When she starts at a new school she stumbles upon the unlikely instrument of computers and friendship. This is an approachable story for readers ages 10 to 13 with a helpful glossary of words defined in the back. - Jessica

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

Fall 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“Resonant verse melds together the world of music and the world of code — two worlds that Emmy is unsure can coexist as she navigates through the ups and downs of starting a new school, finding her passions, and making true friends. This book brought me right back to the emotions of my middle-school years and I’m sure that in the right hands, it will mean the world to someone.”
— Casey Leidig, Green Apple Books on the Park, San Francisco, CA

Description


In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER.

In a new city, at a new school, twelve-year-old Emmy has never felt more out of tune. Things start to look up when she takes her first coding class, unexpectedly connecting with the material—and Abigail, a new friend—through a shared language: music. But when Emmy gets bad news about their computer teacher, and finds out Abigail isn’t being entirely honest about their friendship, she feels like her new life is screeching to a halt. Despite these obstacles, Emmy is determined to prove one thing: that, for the first time ever, she isn’t a wrong note, but a musician in the world's most beautiful symphony.

About the Author


Aimee Lucido is a software engineer and diversity advocate at Uber and a graduate of Hamline’s MFAC program. Women in technology is a subject close to her heart, and she brings this passion to the page. In her spare time, she does musical improv and writes crossword puzzles. She lives in San Francisco, CA.

Praise For…


★ "As Emmy learns Java, the language and structure of programming seep into her poems. Music and code interweave…. and readers will cheer to see them work collectively…to create something beautiful.”—Kirkus, STARRED review

"Music, coding, strong female techie role models—this engaging first novel should attract a wide audience."—Booklist

"This timely debut...champions girls in STEM and delivers a positive message about being 'always exactly yourself'....Through the author’s creative mesh of coding, music, poetry, and narrative, this story uniquely conveys the art and beauty that can be found in multiple disciplines.... relatable and relevant." —Publishers Weekly

"
This unusual tale seamlessly weaves basic computer coding concepts into a compelling story about middle schoolers struggling to forge their own identities in spite of the expectations of their families and society."—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358040828
ISBN-10: 0358040825
Publisher: Versify
Publication Date: September 24th, 2019
Pages: 416

It's the season of monsters, ghosts, and witches!

Alfred's Book of Monsters Cover Image
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue Cover Image
The Scarecrow Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Okay Witch Cover Image
Dead Voices Cover Image
Wilder Girls Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Exciting, fast-paced story of Christopher, the apprentice to an apothecary who is involved in several mysterious deaths. One of the best kids' novels I've read this year. I felt like I was in their world for days afterwards! - Nikki