Popular Preorders

Starters (Library Binding)

Starters Cover Image
Not available
Out of Print

Description


 “Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is a terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats . . .” raves the Los Angeles Times. In the future, teens rent their bodies to seniors who want to be young again. One girl discovers her renter plans to do more than party--her body will commit murder, if her mind can't stop it. Sixteen-year-old Callie lost her parents when the genocide spore wiped out everyone except those who were vaccinated first--the very young and very old. With no grandparents to claim Callie and her little brother, they go on the run, living as squatters, and fighting off unclaimed renegades who would kill for a cookie. Hope comes via Prime Destinations, run by a mysterious figure known only as The Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to seniors, known as enders, who get to be young again. Callie's neurochip malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her rich renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, even dating Blake, the grandson of a senator. It's a fairy-tale new life . . . until she uncovers the Body Bank's horrible plan. . . .

"STARTERS is a smart, swift, inventive, altogether gripping story. Callie Woodland, the narrator, deserves a series, and happily I am sure she'll get one!"—Dean Koontz

About the Author


LISSA PRICE is the award-winning international bestselling author of "STARTERS," published in over thirty countries. She has lived in India and Japan but now resides in Los Angeles. You can visit her at www.LissaPrice.com.

Praise For…


"The only thing better than a terrific concept is one that is as well executed as Starters. Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats."
Los Angeles Times

"Built up to a dramatic climax and a stunning twist, Starters is an addictive and alluring tale about human nature's darker side, and how far we'll go to get what we want. Readers everywhere will want to dive right in, and Hunger Games fans especially will find themselves hooked."
Examiner.com

"This story of those who are not what they seem twists along with multiple-identity switcheroos and chase scenes worthy of a Hollywood blockbuster . . . The inevitable sequel can’t appear soon enough."
Booklist
 
"Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense."
Kirkus Reviews

“Newcomer Price launches a dystopian series that offers . . . a notable command of technique . . . Raising questions about class, property, and body/mind separation, Price's thriller features well-crafted tension, believable villains, and moments of stolen sweetness.”
Publishers Weekly

“This action-packed novel is set in a twisted, hostile world and is a must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast paced, romantic, and thought provoking, the jaw-dropping ending left us starving for a sequel.”
Justine Magazine

“Starters is a dystopian read you'll want to snatch up for yourself . . . With its intriguing plot-twists and dash of romance, Lissa's novel is a bona fide pageturner that proves you can't take anything—or anyone—at face value.”
— MTV.com’s Hollywood Crush Blog



Product Details
ISBN: 9780375990601
ISBN-10: 0375990607
Publisher: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 13th, 2012
Pages: 336
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Helen Rutter’s sparkling debut – The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh – is a heartwarming and yes, laugh out loud contemporary middle grade about 6th grader Billy Plimpton who dreams of being a comedian. He has a few roadblocks in his way – mainly his stutter and inability to get past his own anxieties. Working through these blockades with him, he has a great support group – his lunchtime friend Skyla, Mr. Osho his homeroom teacher and musical mentor, his grandmother Granny Bread, among others. However, his relationship with friends and a bully named Blackmore give this resilient, and ultimately self-aware young man the courage to be himself. Readers will be rooting for Billy through the last page of this uplifting tale. Terrific!

Reviewed by Maureen