Popular Preorders

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer Cover Image
$10.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile introduces Jamila and Shirley, two unlikely friends who save each other's summers while solving their neighborhood's biggest mysteries.

Jamila Waheed is staring down a lonely summer in a new neighborhood--until she meets Shirley Bones. Sure, Shirley's a little strange, but both girls need a new plan for the summer, and they might as well become friends.

Then this kid Oliver shows up begging for Shirley's help. His pet gecko has disappeared, and he's sure it was stolen! That's when Jamila discovers Shirley's secret: She's the neighborhood's best kid detective, and she's on the case. When Jamila discovers she's got some detective skills of her own, a crime-solving partnership is born.

The mystery of the missing gecko turns Shirley and Jamila's summer upside down. And when their partnership hits a rough patch, they have to work together to solve the greatest mystery of all: What it means to be a friend.

About the Author


Gillian Goerz is a Canadian illustrator, writer, and cartoonist. Her illustrations can be found in books such as Ryan North's choosable path adventures To Be or Not to Be and Romeo and/or Juliet. Her comics have been seen in The Walrus, Descant Magazine, and the Humber Literary Review with frequent collaborator and award-winning author Mariko Tamaki. CBC Books named Gillian's autobiographical comic "a highlight" of the anthology The Secret Loves of Geek Girls. She lives in Toronto, Canada.

Praise For…


Praise for Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer

★ “Goerz is a master of character development, making no one into a villain and no one into a saint and giving each a fascinating role to play. . . . An action-packed graphic novel about finding—and forgiving—our closest friends.” —Kirkus, starred review

★ "Goerz’s simple, expressive style lends itself well to a heartwarming whodunit that is, at its core, a story of friendship with a wonderfully inclusive cast." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This well-executed graphic novel strikes a balance between a focus on meaningful relationships and just plain fun; it’s a great choice for fans of both the ‘Cam ­Jansen’ books and Raina Telgemeier.” —School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780525552864
ISBN-10: 0525552863
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: July 14th, 2020
Pages: 224

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

LA foodies, look no further. This is the perfect summer read filled with the amazing flavors and feelings only an LA summer can bring. Clara is forced to work in her dad's Korean-Brazilian food truck this summer in order to pay off some completely accidental school property damage with her long time rival. Chaos ensues. This story is so vivdly set in our city filled with freeway humor and the diversity that makes our city amazing. Highly recomend this book for laugh out loud reading. - Jessica