Everyone Gets A Book A catalog of recommendations from your local independent bookstore

Popular Preorders

Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
8 on hand, as of Dec 6 8:01am
(Fantasy)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Blood of Stars series.


Staff Reviews


Spin the Dawn was a book full of history and powerful feminist characters. An unusual book with an interesting set of tasks to be conquered. A great book for a curious reader. Fun, crazy, and mysterious characters make the characters storng and full of secrets. An exciting read! Great for everyone 14 and up. Kaitlyn R., customer age 14

— From Customer Picks

Description


"Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster." --Entertainment Weekly

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.


Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.
     Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.
     And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
     Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

"Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling." —NPR

“All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest… a stunning tapestry of adventure." —The Washington Post

"What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter

About the Author


ELIZABETH LIM grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she was raised on a hearty diet of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Before becoming an author, Elizabeth was a professional film and video game composer, and she still tends to come up with her best book ideas when writing near a piano. An alumna of Harvard College and the Juilliard School, she now lives in New York City with her husband and her daughter.

Spin the Dawn is her first original novel, and its companion in the Blood of Stars series, Unravel the Dusk, will be published in summer 2020. For more information, visit her online (elizabethlim.com) or follow her on Twitter (@LizLim) or Instagram (@elimpix).

Praise For…


"Maia's perspective as a working tailor makes her world vibrant and full of sensory details that are sure to delight even the most jaded of fantasy readers." —NPR

"Part Project Runway set during the Silk Road era, part epic adventure. . . . This will have broad appeal." —Kirkus Reviews

"Beautifully written with a can’t-wait-for-the-sequel ending, this breathtaking and fast-paced Silk-road inspired fantasy from the author of Mulan-retelling Reflection (2018) is sure to enchant readers beginning to end." —Booklist

"An addictive magical adventure." —SLJ

"Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment." --Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked

"A thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery." —Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere


Product Details
ISBN: 9780525646990
ISBN-10: 052564699X
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 9th, 2019
Pages: 416
Series: The Blood of Stars

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Legacy (Keeper of the Lost Cities #8) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

The fantastic follow up to McGee’s first Ryan Quinn adventure for middle grade readers will keep your adrenaline high, your heart thumping with suspense as the pages fly by. Ryan is once again teemed with his funny sidekick, Danny, a kid computer genius “aka” hacker, as well as numerous others. Ryan’s last adventures didn’t really include his parents, who are members of a secret Emergency Relocation Committee, who help at-risk people get out of their countries to safety. This time, Danny and Ryan are in a fictional African country trying to help old ERC friends and their parents are in the middle of the action with them. Reading the 1st adventure is not necessary in this high octane thriller for action-adventure fans. Perfect book for Rick Riordon, James Patterson or Stuart Gibbs fans. - Maureen