Popular Preorders

Witches of Brooklyn (Paperback)

Witches of Brooklyn Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Nov 28 5:30am
(Graphic Novels)

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“I’m so excited about Sophie Escabasse’s debut graphic novel! I love graphic novels, and Escabasse’s style is so perfectly suited to the medium. I adored her protagonist and her aunts, and I was completely swept away by this magical story of a girl coping with loss and new beginnings. As an artist admiring another, I love how Escabasse manifested Effie’s magic, and feel certain it’s something that will speak to all young artists out there! Full of thoughtfulness and humor, with a grand dash of magic and witchery, I can’t wait for more from Effie, Selimene, and Carlota!”
— Tomoko Bason, BookPeople, Austin, TX

Description


There's a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family.

A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends.


Could there really be witches in Brooklyn?!

Effie's aunts are weird. Like, really WEIRD. Really, really, really WEIRD! The secretly-magic kind of weird and that makes Effie wonder . . . does this mean she can do magic, too?

Life in Brooklyn takes a strange twist for Effie as she learns more about her family and herself. With new friends who will do whatever they can to be there for her, a cursed pop-star, and her magically-inclined aunts--Effie's life is about to get interesting.

About the Author


Sophie is a French author and illustrator who lives in Brooklyn with her husband, three children, and their black cat Terrence. She has illustrated many books for middle grade readers, including Florence Parry Heide and Roxanne Heide Pierce's Spotlight Club Mysteries series (Albert Whitman); and the Freestyler Funnies series by Tom Easton (Hachette UK).

She has been a graphic novel lover for as long as she can remember and she enjoys fun and expressive characters. Witches of Brooklyn is her debut graphic novel.

@essoffi

Praise For…


“A mixture of everyday adventures and enchanting fantasy, this lighthearted story will delight readers.” —Kirkus Reviews

A warm story of found family and healing that stands on its own while setting the stage for further adventures.” —Publisher’s Weekly

“A focus on growth and change rather than struggle… An anticipated sequel will likely be welcomed by fantasy and graphic novel fans eager to see what adventures await the young witch.” —The Bulletin

“Lighthearted, sweet, and entertaining.” —The Horn Book

"A charming middle-grade take on Sabrina the Teenage Witch that only scratches the surface of this new series’ enormous potential." —Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593119273
ISBN-10: 0593119274
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Pages: 240
Series: Witches of Brooklyn

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Oh my gosh, here's the next comic series to get you hooked! Lumberjanes brings you to an absolutely rad summer camp for “hard-core lady-types”, where you meet a cast of characters who are adventurous, loud, happy, kind, and absolutely ready for anything they might encounter at this wild camp. There are many volumes of this wonderful story, starting us right off with these girls’ adventures solving the mysteries surrounding the “Holy Kitten”. And while we’re along for the ride, we end up totally falling in love with all these awesome characters and their dynamics and friendships. Not to mention, the art is full of energy and vibrancy to match their wild adventures! Lumberjanes is always such fun!

(Graphic Novel, Ages 8+) - reviewed by Isabel