Hellaween (Paperback)

Hellaween By Moss Lawton Cover Image

Hellaween (Paperback)

$13.99


NOT AVAILABLE
Perfect for fans of Wednesday, Hooky, Monster High, and anyone in need of a wickedly good laugh, this graphic novel follows an aspiring witch and her two best friends as they try to have a fun-filled Halloween . . . while also dealing with a pair of neighborhood do-gooders hell-bent on vanquishing evil.

Learning to become a witch is hella difficult! Luckily, Gwen can always count on her two best friends in the whole world for help. Except Sloane and Miles aren’t exactly from this world. They’re from the Hallowlands, a monstrous realm, which they can only leave as the year creeps toward Halloween. This year, Gwen is determined to flex her magical skills. Armed with her first-ever grimoire, she’s hoping her friends will finally see that she has what it takes to leave boring suburbia behind and join them in the Hallowlands.

Except Gwen hadn’t counted on Hiro, a local kid obsessed with hunting the supernatural. When he and his reluctant sidekick start making trouble for them, the monster squad will have to fight to avoid having their secrets exposed—or worse. But when Gwen’s quest to prove herself leads to a string of unintended consequences, the five of them may just have to band together to take on something even more nightmarish than being a teen.
Moss Lawton is a comic creator and storyboard artist from the Bay Area. They've worked as a story artist for TV and features at studios including Netflix, Nickelodeon, Disney, Dreamworks, and WB on projects such as Invader ZIM: Enter the Florpus, Trollhunters: Rise of the Titans, Monsters at Work, and Monster High, as well as Bidoof’s Big Stand with The Pokémon Company.  Moss makes comics with the help of their very loud cat, Vincent, and has been told they decorate way too early for Halloween. You can find them online at dinolich.com and follow them on Twitter and Instagram @Dinolich.

Product Details ISBN: 9780593524282
ISBN-10: 0593524284
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: August 8th, 2023
Pages: 208
Language: English
"Stylishly spooky and outrageously fun. A spooky but sweet story about the importance of relying on your friends, especially when you feel alone." Kirkus

"Lawton fashions a raucous All Hallows’ Eve tale with a cheeky Halloweentown vibe in this wickedly funny graphic novel debut. [They explore] themes of miscommunication and connection through the lens of a good-intentioned witch with a chaotic approach to problem-solving." —Publishers Weekly

"A slice-of-life character piece with supernatural high jinks humor. With its punk paranormal style, easygoing dialogue, and story of belonging and friendship, many tweens and young teens will find this graphic novel a relatable read." —School Library Journal

“With such an inventive world and fun cast of characters all I want is MORE. I could read about this hellish little gang and their adventures forever.” Dana Terrace, creator and executive producer of The Owl House

"The kind of book that makes you feel like trash for not being a cool witch, werewolf, or vampire." —Jhonen Vasquez, creator and executive producer of Invader Zim

"Hellaween is for any kid who's ever felt alone, had something to prove, and wanted to party, all at the same spooky time."Jake Wyatt, co-executive producer of My Adventures with Superman

"It’s not that often that you come across a comic with so much charm and character. Such a beautiful book." —Rad Sechrist, creator and executive producer of Kipo and the Age of Wonderbeasts