Popular Preorders

Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook Lib/E (Compact Disc)

Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook Lib/E Cover Image
Not available
Not Available - Possibly Out of Print

Description


A striking historical novel about an ordinary young British woman sent to uncover a network of spies and war criminals in post-war Germany that will appeal to fans of The Huntress and Transcription.

World War II has just ended, and Britain has established the Control Commission for Germany, which oversees their zone of occupation. The Control Commission hires British civilians to work in Germany, rebuild the shattered nation and prosecute war crimes. Somewhat aimless, bored with her job as a provincial schoolteacher, and unwilling to live with her overbearing mother any longer, thirtysomething Edith Graham applies for a job with the Commission--but she is also recruited by her cousin, Leo, who is in the Secret Service. To them, Edith is perfect spy material...single, ordinary-looking, with a college degree in German. Cousin Leo went to Oxford with one of their most hunted war criminals, Count Kurt von Stavenow, who Edith remembers all too well from before the war. He wants her to find him.

Intrigued by the challenge, Edith heads to Germany armed with a convincing cover story: she's an unassuming Education Officer sent to help resurrect German schools. To send information back to her Secret Service handlers in London, Edith has crafted the perfect alter ego, cookbook author Stella Snelling, who writes a popular magazine cookery column. She embeds crucial intelligence within the recipes she collects. But occupied Germany is awash with other spies, collaborators, and opportunists, and as she's pulled into their world, Edith soon discovers that no one is what they seem to be. The closer she gets to uncovering von Stavenow's whereabouts--and the network of German civilians who still support him--the greater the danger.

With a unique, compelling premise, Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook is a beautifully crafted and gripping novel about daring, betrayal, and female friendship.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781094163185
ISBN-10: 109416318X
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Written in the Stars made me immensely, outlandishly happy. I was smiling the entire time I was reading this book. This romance brings together Elle, a heart-on-her-sleeve astrologer who is very simply looking for her soulmate, and Darcy, a by-the-book business woman who is very simply NOT. Elle and Darcy decide to fake a romance to appease their nagging families, but an oh-so-real romance ensues. This book plays fabulously on our favorite romantic tropes like fake dating and enemies-to-lovers, with nods to our beloved Pride & Prejudice. It is rich in its charm and humor, its vibrant characters, and its emotional storytelling. One of my favorite books of the year, I can't get Elle and Darcy and their marvelous love story out of my head.

(Adult Romance) - reviewed by Isabel