Popular Preorders

Cosmic Commandos (Paperback)

Cosmic Commandos Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Mar 30 1:30am
(Graphic Novels)

Description


In this graphic novel adventure for readers of Hilo and Roller Girl, a pair of twin brothers accidentally bring their favorite video game to life—and now they have to find a way to work together to defeat it.
 
Jeremy and Justin are twins, but they couldn’t be any more different from each other. Jeremy is a risk taker who likes to get his hands dirty; Justin prefers to read, focus, and get all his facts straight before jumping in. But they do have one important thing in common: They both love video games. When Jeremy wins a cereal-box charm that brings his favorite video game to life, villains and all, he finds that he’s in way over his head. Justin knows everything there is to know about the rules of the game—he read the handbook, of course—and Jeremy isn’t afraid to try new things. Can these two mismatched brothers work together to beat the video game that has become their life?

About the Author


Christopher Eliopoulos began his illustration career at Marvel, and has worked on thousands of comics, including Franklin Richards: Son of a Genius, Pet Avengers, and Cow Boy, all of which he wrote and illustrated. He is also the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Ordinary People Change the World series. He lives in New Jersey with his wife and their identical twin sons.

Praise For…


Praise for Cosmic Commandos

"Author/illustrator and comics artist Eliopoulos bases his graphic novel on his own identical twin sons, and the reality of their relationship shines through the sci-fi-light tale with its silly villain (named Skorn) and copious action and plentiful jokes. . . . Readers will look for Eliopoulos' next venture into kids' comics with anticipation." —Kirkus 

"A graphic novel that balances near-nonstop action with a testy sibling relationship. . . . Eliopoulos’s chunky linework and the squat proportions of his young heroes evoke Bill Watterson’s Calvin and Hobbes strip . . . and diehard comics fans will appreciate the references he sneaks in to PeanutsGarfield, and Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s Lunch Lady series." —Publishers Weekly

"An emotionally complex and satisfying story. . . . Eliopoulos's Charles Schultz-inspired cartooning, with balloon-headed characters and popping colors, keeps the action light and zippy even when the emotions run high." —Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781101994474
ISBN-10: 1101994479
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 192

Boredom Busters for Kids!

Share Your Smile: Raina's Guide to Telling Your Own Story Cover Image
Jumbo Pad of Word Puzzles (Highlights Jumbo Books & Pads) Cover Image
60-Second Puzzles (Highlights Fun to Go) Cover Image
101 Kids Activities that are the Ooey, Gooey-est Ever!: Nonstop Fun with DIY Slimes, Doughs and Moldables Cover Image
Paint by Sticker Kids: Beautiful Bugs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time! Cover Image
Scratch & Sketch Animal Dot-To-Dot Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Sophronia Angelina Temminnick spends her days running around on adventures in her family’s Victorian country home in a very un-ladylike manner. So to prepare her to enter society as she becomes a young woman, her family enrolls her into Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. But the school isn’t what Sophronia expects… firstly, it’s not in any sort of building but a giant, floating dirigible! Although she and her new classmates do learn dance, dress, and etiquette, she soon realizes that the school is also an academy to use feminine guiles for more sinister aims like espionage, manipulation, and even assassination! Sophronia’s lessons at Mademoiselle Geraldine’s include learning how to poison with proper tea service and the ins and outs of the aristocracy from a Vampire. With the author’s dry humor and wit, this series both celebrates and satirizes the steam punk world. An exciting, saucy, and hilarious read! - Linnea