Popular Preorders

The Emperor's Ostrich (Paperback)

The Emperor's Ostrich Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
10 on hand, as of Sep 19 4:30am
(12)

Description


Magic and mayhem abound in this middle-grade fantasy adventure from Julie Berry, the author of The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place.

Young dairymaid Begonia has lost her cow Alfalfa. So she has set off on a search across the countryside even though she has nothing but a magical map to guide her. Along the way she meets a mother and baby, a woodcutter, a very dirty young man, and an eight-foot ostrich.

Meanwhile, the emperor has gone missing from the royal palace in a most mysterious manner. Was it murder? Was it magic? It will take all of Begonia's wits to save the empire and get Alfalfa home safely.

The Emperor's Ostrich:

“Cheeky commentary about class and feminism, giggle-inducing wordplay, and jokes about the ridiculousness of imperial overindulgence round out this story. Readers looking for easy laughs will find them here.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Berry (The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place) creates a lively, magic-laced folktale featuring a self-centered emperor, a dairymaid, a farmer boy with grand romantic ideals, and two very stubborn animals. . . . Whimsical details, including an enchanted map and a pot of mustard that changes flavor, will delight readers, and the nonstop action will keep them on the edge of their seats.” —Publishers Weekly

"This whimsical, rambling adventure also serves as a coming-of-age tale. . . . This novel is well written and well executed, with Berry's clear prose holding together a complicated plot and increasingly eccentric cast of characters. . . . Give to kids who enjoy a clever story and don't mind a strong dose of silliness, or to anyone who loves the idea of a cow who becomes besotted with an ostrich." —School Library Journal

About the Author


Julie Berry is the author of the 2017 Printz Honor and Los Angeles Times Book Prize shortlisted novel The Passion of Dolssa, the Carnegie and Edgar shortlisted All the Truth That’s in Me (2013, Viking), the Odyssey Honor title The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place (2014, Roaring Brook), and several others. She holds a BS from Rensselaer in communication and an MFA from Vermont College. She divides her time between Massachusetts and California with her family.

Praise For…


The Emperor's Ostrich:

“Cheeky commentary about class and feminism, giggle-inducing wordplay, and jokes about the ridiculousness of imperial overindulgence round out this story. Readers looking for easy laughs will find them here.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Berry (The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place) creates a lively, magic-laced folktale featuring a self-centered emperor, a dairymaid, a farmer boy with grand romantic ideals, and two very stubborn animals. . . . Whimsical details, including an enchanted map and a pot of mustard that changes flavor, will delight readers, and the nonstop action will keep them on the edge of their seats.” —Publishers Weekly

"This whimsical, rambling adventure also serves as a coming-of-age tale. . . . This novel is well written and well executed, with Berry's clear prose holding together a complicated plot and increasingly eccentric cast of characters. . . . Give to kids who enjoy a clever story and don't mind a strong dose of silliness, or to anyone who loves the idea of a cow who becomes besotted with an ostrich." —School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250158888
ISBN-10: 1250158885
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: July 17th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English

It's the season of monsters, ghosts, and witches!

Alfred's Book of Monsters Cover Image
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue Cover Image
The Scarecrow Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
The Okay Witch Cover Image
Dead Voices Cover Image
Wilder Girls Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

In this season of strong, brave women, Maureen's absolute favorite memoir - Rough Magic by Lara Prior-Palmer - is not to be missed. It's about Lara's naiveté in trying to win the grueling, soul-wrenching World's Loneliest Horse Race in Mongolia, with nary a thought of preparation. This is for fans of Cherly Strayand's Wild and MacDonald's H is for Hawk and is writing at it's finest! - Review by Maureen