Popular Preorders

Silver Batal: Race for the Dragon Heartstone (Hardcover)

Silver Batal: Race for the Dragon Heartstone Cover Image
By K. D. Halbrook, Ilse Gort (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Sep 28 4:15am
(Fantasy)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Silver Batal series.


Description


Silver Batal and her beloved water dragon Hiyyan continue their adventures across the sea and skies in Silver Batal: Race for the Dragon Heartstone, a middle-grade fantasy adventure from K.D. Halbrook with illustrations by Ilse Gort.

Silver Batal and her best friend, Hiyyan, have narrowly escaped the greedy clutches of Queen Imea. With the queen’s trackers hot on their tails, Silver and Hiyyan head into an exciting frozen world filled with ferocious ice dragons, new friends, and new foes.

But when Hiyyan suffers a poisonous bite from a deadly dragon, Silver must find a legendary dragon heartstone to heal him. Their search leads to the mysterious Keep, the home of the reclusive and mysterious Watchers, where nothing is quite as it appears...

Perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta, this thrilling follow-up to Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races will capture your heart.

About the Author


K. D. Halbrook grew up in California, surrounded by the gorgeous art, food, family bonds, and Lebanese American family quirks that inspired the world of Silver Batal. She’s also the author of the middle-grade novel Smoke and Mirrors, as well as several young adult titles under the name Kristin Halbrook. She currently resides in Seattle with her family.

Praise For…


"A gripping sequel full of adventure, bravery, fear, and self-discovery." —Kirkus

Praise for Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races:

“An imaginative delight.” —Sayantani DasGupta, New York Times–bestselling author of the Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond series

“Silver and her dragon, Hiyyan, will race into your heart.” —Kamilla Benko, author of the Unicorn Quest series.

“Nonstop adventure and a brilliantly realized world—I never wanted to leave Silver’s side!” —Amie Kaufman, New York Times–bestselling author of Elementals: Ice Wolves

“A fun, fast-paced adventure with an engaging supporting cast in which young fantasy lovers will delight.” —Booklist

“Hand this to the Rick Riordan crowd, or to kids who like Tui Sutherland’s Wings of Fire series.” —School Library Journal

“A rip-roaring adventure. Halbrook’s worldbuilding includes a rich taxonomy of water dragons who are fully realized, with emotions, loyalty, and aspirations.” —Kirkus



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250181091
ISBN-10: 1250181097
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: August 18th, 2020
Pages: 256
Series: Silver Batal

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

This book was a fantastic story about two kids discovering who they are and how they want to present themselves to the world. Frances is a daring seamstress who has caught the eye of Lady Crystallia a beautiful fashion trend starter. But the world doesn't know that Lady Crystallia is Prince Sebastian and Frances must decide if she wants the world to know about her work, even as it threatens to expose her friend's secrets to the world. Jen's illustrations captures the emotions of the character's so creatively. I also loved the information in the back of the book about her creative process. - Jessica