Winterhouse (Paperback)

Winterhouse Cover Image
By Ben Guterson, Chloe Bristol (Illustrator)
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jan 21 2:01am
(Fantasy)

Description


An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut—the first book in a trilogy—set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers’s malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms—most notably its massive library. It’s not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel’s secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel’s curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

A Christy Ottaviano Book

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

“Clever and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." —School Library Journal

About the Author


Ben Guterson was born and raised in Seattle. Before working at Microsoft as a Program Manager, Ben spent a decade teaching public school on the Navajo Reservation in New Mexico and in rural Colorado. He has written features and book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites, as well as a nature-travel guide to the Southwest. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle. Winterhouse is his first book.

Chloe Bristol is an animation artist whose work has been featured on Disney Junior and Cartoon Network, among others. She is also the illustrator of the popular Winterhouse series by Ben Guterson. She lives in Southern California.

Praise For…


Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

“Clever and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Filled with puzzles and magic, Guterson’s debut keeps suspense high as the secrets of Elizabeth’s past unwind. This satisfying mystery leaves just enough unanswered questions to have readers eager for the next book in this planned trilogy." —Publishers Weekly

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." —School Library Journal

"A natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello’s Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch." —Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250294197
ISBN-10: 1250294193
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: October 30th, 2018
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Winterhouse

New Year, New Books!

The Secrets of Winterhouse Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Saving Winslow Cover Image
I'll Love You Till the Cows Come Home Cover Image
Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire Cover Image
Wild Bios: Frida Catlo Cover Image
Max and the Midknights Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

The fantastic follow up to McGee’s first Ryan Quinn adventure for middle grade readers will keep your adrenaline high, your heart thumping with suspense as the pages fly by. Ryan is once again teemed with his funny sidekick, Danny, a kid computer genius “aka” hacker, as well as numerous others. Ryan’s last adventures didn’t really include his parents, who are members of a secret Emergency Relocation Committee, who help at-risk people get out of their countries to safety. This time, Danny and Ryan are in a fictional African country trying to help old ERC friends and their parents are in the middle of the action with them. Reading the 1st adventure is not necessary in this high octane thriller for action-adventure fans. Perfect book for Rick Riordon, James Patterson or Stuart Gibbs fans. - Maureen