Winterhouse (Paperback)

Winterhouse Cover Image
By Ben Guterson, Chloe Bristol (Illustrator)
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
30 on hand, as of Nov 18 10:40am
(Fantasy)

Description


An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut—the first book in a trilogy—set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers’s malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms—most notably its massive library. It’s not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel’s secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel’s curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

A Christy Ottaviano Book

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

“Clever and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." —School Library Journal

About the Author


Ben Guterson was born and raised in Seattle. Before working at Microsoft as a Program Manager, Ben spent a decade teaching public school on the Navajo Reservation in New Mexico and in rural Colorado. He has written features and book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites, as well as a nature-travel guide to the Southwest. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle. Winterhouse is his first book.

Chloe Bristol is an animation artist whose work has been featured on Disney Junior and Cartoon Network, among others. She is also the illustrator of the popular Winterhouse series by Ben Guterson. She lives in Southern California.

Praise For…


Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

“Clever and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Filled with puzzles and magic, Guterson’s debut keeps suspense high as the secrets of Elizabeth’s past unwind. This satisfying mystery leaves just enough unanswered questions to have readers eager for the next book in this planned trilogy." —Publishers Weekly

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." —School Library Journal

"A natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello’s Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch." —Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250294197
ISBN-10: 1250294193
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: October 30th, 2018
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Winterhouse

How do you say thank you?

The Thank You Book Cover Image
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga Cover Image
Little Tree Cover Image
Sometimes Rain Cover Image
Leaves Cover Image
The Birchbark House Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Exciting, fast-paced story of Christopher, the apprentice to an apothecary who is involved in several mysterious deaths. One of the best kids' novels I've read this year. I felt like I was in their world for days afterwards! - Nikki