Anzu the Great Kaiju (Hardcover)

Anzu the Great Kaiju By Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator) Cover Image

Anzu the Great Kaiju (Hardcover)

By Benson Shum, Benson Shum (Illustrator)

$18.99


Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of Dec 3 12:34pm
(Picture Book)

An adorable picture book about a tiny monster with a big heart trying to follow in his family's footsteps.

All great Kaiju are born with a super power to strike fear in the heart of the city.
But Anzu is different.
Instead of mayhem, he likes May flowers.
Instead of striking fear, he prefers to be sincere.
Can Anzu find a way to make his family proud and stay true to his kind self?

From Disney animator and illustrator Bensom Shum comes an adorable and heartwarming picture book about making your own way and the unexpected power of gentleness—perfect for fans of Ferdinand the Bull.

Benson Shum has illustrated a number of picture books, including Adam Lehrhaupt’s Sloth Went, Jennifer Sattler’s Go to Sheep, and his own Anzu the Great Kaiju. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he has contributed to such films as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, Moana, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Frozen II, Raya and the Last Dragon, and Encanto. Originally from Vancouver, British Columbia, Benson now lives in sunny Southern California.

Benson Shum has illustrated a number of picture books, including Adam Lehrhaupt’s Sloth Went, Jennifer Sattler’s Go to Sheep, and his own Anzu the Great Kaiju. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he has contributed to such films as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, Moana, Ralph Breaks the Internet, Frozen II, Raya and the Last Dragon, and Encanto. Originally from Vancouver, British Columbia, Benson now lives in sunny Southern California.

Product Details ISBN: 9781250776129
ISBN-10: 1250776120
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: January 11th, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Anzu the Great Kaiju

"Benson Shum has created a heartwarming story of acceptance and strength all wrapped up in a cute little package named Anzu." —Dan Santat, Caldecott medalist and author of the bestselling book After the Fall

*"It’s a pleasure to see the monster myth once again turned on its head. Spoiler alert: Goofy, loving monster makes good on his proclivities for joy, and wins his parents’ approval along the way. It’s a triumph, all right." School Library Journal, starred review

"More sweet than scary, this heartfelt story naturally incorporates specific elements of Japanese culture into impressive picture-book storytelling." The Horn Book Magazine

"[E]ngaging and heartwarming. . . . A tongue-in-cheek bildungsroman spun around celebrating differences and the underrated superpowers of gentleness and sweetness. Kirkus

"Shum’s experience as an animator. . . is evident in the way he storyboards the narrative, pulls readers along with cinematic energy, and celebrates Japanese aesthetics—with everything from bonsai trees to golden picture frames to tiny creatures that look like adorable walking dumplings. [A] wholly original tale, which proves humorous, heartfelt, and as sweet as the flowers Anzu conjures." Booklist