Popular Preorders

Bikes for Sale (Story Books for Kids, Books about Friendship, Preschool Picture Books) (Hardcover)

Bikes for Sale (Story Books for Kids, Books about Friendship, Preschool Picture Books) Cover Image
By Carter Higgins, Zachariah OHora (Illustrator)
$16.99
Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"[This] gentle story celebrates the ways in which serendipity can lead to friendship and sharing." – Booklist

Thought provoking book about the power of friendship: Maurice rides his bike to his shop every day. Lotta rides her bike to collect sticks every day. Both go about their separate routines, unaware of the friendship that awaits them just a few blocks away. But what happens when a branch and a lemon peel get in the way? Bikes for Sale is a delightful falling-in-like story from acclaimed picture book creators Carter Higgins and Zachariah OHora that celebrates the power of coincidence to lead us to the friends we''re meant to meet all along.
  • With easy-to-follow lyrical text and lively, bold illustrations.
  • Inspires conversation about how we make friends and the importance of friendship.
  • Carter Higgins is an elementary school librarian and the author of Everything You Need for a Treehouse and This Is Not a Valentine. Zachariah OHora is the illustrator of the New York Times bestseller Wolfie the Bunny, among many other beloved books for kids.
Fans of The Pout-Pout Fish, The Good Egg, and Dandy will love this sweet story about how changing course can lead to the friend you never knew you needed.

This sweet and boldly illustrated book about the power of friendship will be enjoyed again and again.
  • Great read aloud book for family or elementary story time
  • Books for kids ages 3-5
  • Picture books for preschool and kindergartners

About the Author


Carter Higgins is an elementary school librarian and the author of Everything You Need for a Treehouse and This Is Not a Valentine. She lives in Los Angeles, California.

Zachariah OHora is the illustrator of the New York Times bestseller Wolfie the Bunny, among many other beloved books for kids. He lives and works in Narberth, Pennsylvania.

Praise For…


"A fun, clever book about two bike-loving animals who take different paths to work every day... Carter Higgins' writing is spot on, and Zachariah OHora's bold and colorful illustrations are fun and inviting." —Book Riot

"A sweet, quiet, different take on new-friendship." -—Kirkus Reviews

"Maurice and Lotta's tale keeps the reader guessing, and the meet-cute ending is satisfying. OHora's art is as fresh and funny as ever." - The Little Crooked Cottage

"This quirky anticonsumerist fable imagines a town in which uses can be found for the things most people abandon, small enterprises flourish, and communal kindness makes life rich." —Publishers Weekly

"[This] gentle story celebrates the ways in which serendipity can lead to friendship and sharing." - Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781452159324
ISBN-10: 1452159327
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2019
Pages: 40
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Abandoned and left on a desolate lawless island by her powerful sea trader father we meet teen Fable as a struggling dredger who survives cut throat life lessons by her wits and hard won mistakes. She boldly gets off the island by way of an enigmatic trading partner who has a mysterious and dangerous past. With the help of a motley crew with trust issues and enemies galore, Fable gains a family willing to take murderous risks, all the while not sure of her own raw emotions. This taut, magnetic and nail-biting adventure tale of swashbucklers on the dangerous seas will leave you breathless and anxiously awaiting the second book in the duology. - reviewed by Maureen