Not Quite Narwhal (Hardcover)

Not Quite Narwhal Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
23 on hand, as of Feb 18 4:01am
(Picture Book)

Description


In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he’s always been a little bit different—his tusk isn’t as long, he’s not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn’t enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima’s debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.

About the Author


Jessie Sima is an author/illustrator living and working in New York City. She grew up in a small town in Southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller. Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends. They took it quite well. She is the author of Not Quite NarwhalHarriet Gets Carried Away; Love, Z; and Spencer’s New Pet. You can visit her at JessieSima.com.

Jessie Sima is an author/illustrator living and working in New York City. She grew up in a small town in Southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller. Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends. They took it quite well. She is the author of Not Quite NarwhalHarriet Gets Carried Away; Love, Z; and Spencer’s New Pet. You can visit her at JessieSima.com.

Praise For…


"The message is an appealing one that could speak to many family situations relating to multiple identities...feel-good story"
— Kirkus Reviews

"Adorable characters trigger smiles throughout"
— Publisher's Weekly

"A storyteller’s pacing and winning characters, resulting in an appealing book. Read it for a whimsical storytime or provide some text-to-text connections for older students with Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s Uni the Unicorn and Bob Shea’s Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great....this title is highly recommended."
— School Library Journal

"Swap the tired Ugly Duckling for this delightfully absurd tale of knowing who you are and where you came from."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Sima’s bubbly, adorable artwork is nearly irresistible...This endearing tale will warm many a heart."
— Booklist

"This book is painfully adorable...The story is about finding your own way to belong,..It's just beautiful.”
— Shelf Awareness Pro


Product Details
ISBN: 9781481469098
ISBN-10: 1481469096
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017
Pages: 40
Language: English

New Year, New Books!

The Secrets of Winterhouse Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Saving Winslow Cover Image
I'll Love You Till the Cows Come Home Cover Image
Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire Cover Image
Wild Bios: Frida Catlo Cover Image
Max and the Midknights Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

The Nightrunner series has quickly become my new favorite fantasy series.  Flewelling has created a full and interesting fantasy world that brings freshness to many classic tropes of the genre.  Luck in the Shadows shines when it comes to characters.  Flewelling knows how to let a character grow naturally and come to life in her stories.  Any lover of high fantasy age 16 and up should make this a part of their collection. - Pete