Popular Preorders

The Subtle Knife (Compact Disc)

The Subtle Knife Cover Image
Not available
Out of Print

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the His Dark Materials series.


Description


Philip Pullman's masterpiece continues in this BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatization.

A breathtaking epic, the award-winning His Dark Materials trilogy spans a multitude of worlds. The second installment, "The Subtle Knife," introduces Will Parry a young boy in search of his long-lost explorer father.

Will's discovery of an extraordinary window in the air near the Oxford ring road leads him out of our world and into the strange and unsettling Cittagazze. There he meets Lyra, a girl who is herself searching for something: the secret of the mystical substance Dust. Moving back and forth through the portal, Will and Lyra join forces in their quest. As they make allies and enemies along the way, they also learn of the subtle knife. An object which many would kill to possess, the knife has incredible powers, and Will finds himself reluctantly in a fight for its possession.

The three novels in Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials sequence are bestsellers around the world and were dramatized for a sell-out play at the National Theatre. "Northern Lights" won the Carnegie Medal, the Guardian Award, the Children's Book of the Year, and was made into the film "The Golden Compass."

Ray Fearon, Emma Fielding, Peter Marinker, and Jack Klaff are among the cast in this gripping dramatization.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781483042688
ISBN-10: 1483042685
Publisher: Audiogo
Publication Date: May 1st, 2014
Language: English
Series: His Dark Materials

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

In this season of strong, brave women, Maureen's absolute favorite memoir - Rough Magic by Lara Prior-Palmer - is not to be missed. It's about Lara's naiveté in trying to win the grueling, soul-wrenching World's Loneliest Horse Race in Mongolia, with nary a thought of preparation. This is for fans of Cherly Strayand's Wild and MacDonald's H is for Hawk and is writing at it's finest! - Review by Maureen