Inventory Details

Titles marked "On our shelves now" are on the shelf at Once Upon a Time in Montrose. You can choose to pick up the item at the store or we can ship it for you.

Titles marked "Ships in 1-5 days" are NOT in our store currently but can be fulfilled from our local warehouse depending on availability. 

Title marked "Special Order" are NOT in our store currently, and our experience shows, they are usually out of print or otherwise unavailable. 

Find out more about our online inventory here

Letting Go (MP3 CD)

Letting Go Cover Image
By Philip Roth, Luke Daniels (Read by)
This book is never available from our store
Special Order

Description


Letting Go is Philip Roth's first full-length novel, published just after Goodbye, Columbus, when he was twenty-nine. Set in 1950s Chicago, New York, and Iowa City, Letting Go presents as brilliant a fictional portrait as we have of a mid-century America defined by social and ethical constraints and by moral compulsions conspicuously different from those of today. Newly discharged from the Korean War army, reeling from his mother's recent death, freed from old attachments and hungrily seeking others, Gabe Wallach is drawn to Paul Herz, a fellow graduate student in literature, and to Libby, Paul's moody, intense wife. Gabe's desire to be connected to the ordered world of feeling that he finds in books is first tested vicariously by the anarchy of the Herzes struggles with responsible adulthood and then by his own eager love affairs. Driven by the desire to live seriously and act generously, Gabe meets an impassable test in the person of Martha Reganhart, a spirited, outspoken, divorced mother of two, a formidable woman who, according to critic James Atlas, is masterfully portrayed with depth and resonance. The complex liaison between Gabe and Martha and Gabe's moral enthusiasm for the trials of others are at the heart of this ambitious first novel. Roth] has the finest eye for the details of American life since Sinclair Lewis. Stanley Edgar Hyman.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501279829
ISBN-10: 1501279823
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: August 11th, 2015
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Get ready to be swept up in this hauntingly beautiful story of an orphan boy who dreams of places no on remembers and a powerful girl fighting to do what is right. Laini Taylor creates a fantasy world that is sure to stay in your dreams. Great for readers who enjoyed Six of Crows, An Ember in the Ashes, or Taylor's other books. - Jessica