Popular Preorders

Barely Missing Everything (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Barely Missing Everything Cover Image
By Ramon de Ocampo (Read by), Timothy Andres Pabon (Read by), Cynthia Farrell (Read by)
$43.99
NOT AVAILABLE

Staff Reviews


Raw, gritty and acutely tuned to his community, Matt Mendez' debut blends authenticity with poignancy, heartbreak with heartfelt, this emotionally true contemporary story about 2 El Paso teens and a mom of one of the boys, will keep you riveted and engaged. Comparisons to Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Pena and Angie Thomas are accurate but Mendez is a break out star to be watched. This wallop of a tale should be handed to high school kids en masse.

— From Staff Picks by Maureen

Description


"There are moments when a story shakes you...Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories, and Mendez, a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice, is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape." --Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Pe a, this heartbreaking, no-holds-barred debut novel told from three points of view explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you--your life, brown lives--don't matter.Juan has plans. He's going to get out of El Paso, Texas, on a basketball scholarship and make something of himself--or at least find something better than his mom Fabi's cruddy apartment, her string of loser boyfriends, and a dead dad. Basketball is going to be his ticket out, his ticket up. He just needs to make it happen. His best friend JD has plans, too. He's going to be a filmmaker one day, like Quinten Tarantino or Guillermo del Toro (NOT Steven Spielberg). He's got a camera and he's got passion--what else could he need? Fabi doesn't have a plan anymore. When you get pregnant at sixteen and have been stuck bartending to make ends meet for the past seventeen years, you realize plans don't always pan out, and that there some things you just can't plan for... Like Juan's run-in with the police, like a sprained ankle, and a tanking math grade that will likely ruin his chance at a scholarship. Like JD causing the implosion of his family. Like letters from a man named Mando on death row. Like finding out this man could be the father your mother said was dead. Soon Juan and JD are embarking on a Thelma and Louise--like road trip to visit Mando. Juan will finally meet his dad, JD has a perfect subject for his documentary, and Fabi is desperate to stop them. But, as we already know, there are some things you just can't plan for...


Product Details
ISBN: 9781508277255
ISBN-10: 1508277257
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

This book remains one of my all-time favorite books ever. This story is told in such a strikingly intimate way, you are pulled right into the time of the Trojan war, into a time of heroes and legends, and most of all, you're privy to a love story so epic and deep that it will hold your heart forever. What's more, Madeline Miller's writing is just the most pleasurable thing to read; she writes in such a way that feels as if she wrote it just for your eyes to read. You feel the wind in your hair on warm beaches, your heels kicking up sand; you feel the sticky sap of figs as you bit into their sweetness; you feel the cool spring light filtered through tall forest trees; and most of all, you see the world through the eyes and heart of young Patroclus, as he discovers the mighty hero Achilles and begins their stunning journey together, and their love story for the ages.

(Adult Fiction) - reviewed by Isabel