Popular Preorders

The Kingdom of Back (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Kingdom of Back Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her--perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish--to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age--her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

And as Nannerl's hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true--but his help may cost her everything.

In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically-told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister.

About the Author


Marie Lu is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites series, as well as the blockbuster bestselling Legend series, and the Warcross novels. She graduated from the University of Southern California and jumped into the video game industry as an artist. Now a full-time writer, she spends her spare time reading, drawing, playing games, and getting stuck in traffic. She lives in Los Angeles with her illustrator-author husband, Primo Gallanosa, and their dogs.

Praise For…


Praise for The Kingdom of Back:

“A beautifully evocative cover and a feminist angle on Mozart’s older sister, Nannerl (a talented pianist and composer in her own right), will have readers grabbing for Lu’s latest title.” —Booklist 

“A beautifully composed historical fantasy that will enthrall readers, especially those with music in their hearts.” –School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524739010
ISBN-10: 1524739014
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 336

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Strange Birds: A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

I am unable to put into words how much I loved this book. Each of Sandhya's pervious books are wonderful (When Dimple Met Rishi and From Twinkle, With Love). I read this book all in one night and was so happy with it that I sat down the next morning to write down my thoughts but I felt so intimidated by how much joy this book brought me. Strange to belive, but I just don't think my words would be able to describe to you the sweet happiness, quiet power, and gentle love in this story. All I can tell you is that this book will leave you grinning from ear-to-ear.