Popular Preorders

The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow Cover Image
$12.99
Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of Aug 1 5:18am
(Graphic Novels)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Okay Witch series.


Staff Reviews


Moth may be a witch, but her secret power doesn't prevent her from being bullied at school. When her grandmother witch accidentally reveals a bit of forbidden magic that has the ability to change Moth, the quest to fit in begins. As the changes start to take over Moth, the question becomes where does the real-Moth end and the invading magic begin? 

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

July/August 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“This spellbinding graphic novel has all the things I love: magic, a girl who comes to know her own worth, and a sassy talking cat! This series is a must for any middle grader, but especially ones who have been bullied or alienated.”
— Leah Grover, Bards Alley, Vienna, VA

Description


“A satisfying, brilliant sequel, solidifying Steinkellner’s reputation as a graphic novelist to watch.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag!

Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely popular. What could possibly go wrong?

About the Author


Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series.

Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534431485
ISBN-10: 1534431489
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication Date: July 6th, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: The Okay Witch

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

I enjoyed the book although it's not one I would have selected on my own.  Especially for a debut novel I thought it was well done and engaging. I can't attest to the historical accuracy of the book's premise (yes, I know it's historical fiction). Over-all I would recommend it to anyone looking for an easy, entertaining read for beachside (when beaches reopen) or for a weekend of relaxation even if it's in your own backyard. There were moments where I thought the perspectives of the protagonist - Anita (The Woman in Red) - stemmed from our 21st century experiences as opposed to how the setting might have been perceived in the time period of the book, but this wasn't so distracting that it ruined the novel. On an entirely positive note, I would say that one place where most novels fail for me is the ending - too many novels are either entirely predictable or feel rushed and hurried as if trying to tie up all the loose ends. I was not expecting the outcome at the end of The Woman in Red

Overall I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars . It was a respectable first novel from Diana Giovinazzo, with an engaging story line that was enjoyably uncomplicated yet intriguing, a likeable protagonist, and a surprise ending.

- reviewed by Diane, customer