Popular Preorders

The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow Cover Image
$20.99
Available to Order from Our Warehouse

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Okay Witch series.


Staff Reviews


Moth may be a witch, but her secret power doesn't prevent her from being bullied at school. When her grandmother witch accidentally reveals a bit of forbidden magic that has the ability to change Moth, the quest to fit in begins. As the changes start to take over Moth, the question becomes where does the real-Moth end and the invading magic begin? 

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

July/August 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“This spellbinding graphic novel has all the things I love: magic, a girl who comes to know her own worth, and a sassy talking cat! This series is a must for any middle grader, but especially ones who have been bullied or alienated.”
— Leah Grover, Bards Alley, Vienna, VA

Description


“A satisfying, brilliant sequel, solidifying Steinkellner’s reputation as a graphic novelist to watch.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag!

Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely popular. What could possibly go wrong?

About the Author


Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series.

Emma Steinkellner is an illustrator, writer, and cartoonist living in Los Angeles, California. She is a graduate of Stanford University and the illustrator of the Eisner-nominated comic Quince. She is the author and illustrator of The Okay Witch graphic novel series.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534431492
ISBN-10: 1534431497
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication Date: July 6th, 2021
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: The Okay Witch

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Drawn Together Cover Image
By Minh Lê, Dan Santat (Illustrator), Dan Santat (Cover design or artwork by)
$17.99

This book is so lovely and soft-spoken, but packs a powerful and beautiful message. A young boy visits his grandfather, and while the two do not speak the same language, they find communication through things even more powerful than words: art, family, and love. This book is so magical, taking us through this journey of discovery with stunning artwork.

(Picture Book) - reviewed by Isabel