Popular Preorders

The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this whimsical and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town’s mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town’s most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay’s horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he’s always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.

About the Author


Amanda Foody is the author of Daughter of the Burning City, The Shadow Game series, and The Accidental Apprentice. Formerly an accountant preparing taxes for multinational corporations, Amanda lives in Massachusetts with Jelly Bean, a feline beastly companion. Visit her at AmandaFoody.com.

Praise For…


* "Wholesome, delightful, and jam-packed with adventure." 
— Kirkus Reviews, starred review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534477568
ISBN-10: 153447756X
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: March 30th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Wilderlore

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

This laugh-out-loud book is part silly, part facts, about the wonders of something we all share: a skull!!! With adorable illustrations, find out the many things that make our skulls so neat. By the end of this book you’ll be shouting with glee: “I love my skull!”

(Picture Book) - reviewed by Isabel