Popular Preorders

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place (Hardcover)

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place Cover Image
Not available
Not Available - Possibly Out of Print

Description


There's a murderer on the loose—but that doesn't stop the girls of St. Etheldreda's from attempting to hide the death of their headmistress in this rollicking farce.
The students of St. Etheldreda's School for Girls face a bothersome dilemma. Their irascible headmistress, Mrs. Plackett, and her surly brother, Mr. Godding, have been most inconveniently poisoned at Sunday dinner. Now the school will almost certainly be closed and the girls sent home—unless these seven very proper young ladies can hide the murders and convince their neighbors that nothing is wrong.

Julie Berry's The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place is a smart, hilarious Victorian romp, full of outrageous plot twists, mistaken identities, and mysterious happenings.

About the Author


Julie Berry is the author of the 2017 Printz Honor and Los Angeles Times Book Prize shortlisted novel The Passion of Dolssa, the Carnegie and Edgar shortlisted All the Truth That’s in Me (2013, Viking), the Odyssey Honor title The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place (2014, Roaring Brook), and several others. She holds a BS from Rensselaer in communication and an MFA from Vermont College. She divides her time between Massachusetts and California with her family.

Praise For…


“With a collection of interesting independence-seeking girls, a bit of mystery, and a smattering of romance, this will suit Anglophiles and boarding-school enthusiasts as well as those seeking a bit of sisterly literary companionship.” —BCCB

“Berry's prose is reminiscent of the dark comedy and melodrama of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's "Sherlock Holmes" mysteries . . . This is a well-researched, clever, and deliciously dark comedy with an emphasis on female empowerment.” —School Library Journal

“Immensely entertaining, smart, and frothy.” —The Horn Book

“... beautifully written, with rich vocabulary, charming details, spunky dialogue, and plucky heroines . . . delightfully zany.” —VOYA

“*Romance blooms in unexpected places, and danger lurks around every corner in this delightfully farcical tale, full of twists and turns.” —Publisher's Weekly STARRED REVIEW



Product Details
ISBN: 9781596439566
ISBN-10: 1596439564
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 368
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

In this season of strong, brave women, Maureen's absolute favorite memoir - Rough Magic by Lara Prior-Palmer - is not to be missed. It's about Lara's naiveté in trying to win the grueling, soul-wrenching World's Loneliest Horse Race in Mongolia, with nary a thought of preparation. This is for fans of Cherly Strayand's Wild and MacDonald's H is for Hawk and is writing at it's finest! - Review by Maureen