Popular Preorders

Twig and Turtle 1: Big Move to a Tiny House (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Twig and Turtle 1: Big Move to a Tiny House Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 27 4:15am
(Early Chapter Books)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Twig and Turtle series.


Staff Reviews


Great new chapter book series about sisters and their family downsizing to live more simply in a tiny house. What about their Great Dane pet, who must now live with their Grandma? And how does having only 5 toys impact them -- which ones to choose and which ones to give away? A terrific book about what's important in life.

— From Staff Picks by Maureen

Description


Family, friendship, new school challenges, and a rather large dog problem combine as sisters adjust to their new tiny house life in this charming chapter book series starter from award-winning author Jennifer Richard Jacobson. Perfect for fans of Ivy and Bean and Judy Moody.

In a tiny house, 3 shirts + 3 pants = 9 different outfits

Eight- and six-year-old sisters Twig and Turtle are excited and curious about their new small town in Colorado. And for their cool, tiny house! Their family is united in living more simply, and not stressing out the Earth's resources. But the move comes with a major problem: How do you fit a Great Dane in a tiny house?

Sisters Twig and Turtle experience adventures and challenges with family, friends, and school as they adjust to living in a tiny house.

About the Author


Jennifer Richard Jacobson is the award-winning author of many books for children and young adults including the early-reader series Andy Shane and the Very Bossy Dolores Starbuckle, and her most recent book, The Dollar Kids. A graduate of the Harvard Graduate School of Education, when not writing, Jennifer provides trainings in Writer's Workshop for teachers. Jennifer lives in Maine with her husband and dog.

Paula Franco is a children's book illustrator living in Rosario, Argentina.

Praise For…


"An adorable introduction to a great series about sibling bonding and friendship, reminiscent of a contemporary Beezus and Ramona tale. A solid addition to any ­children’s library collection."School Library Journal

"Twig's adjustment to a new school rings true; half-page illustrations appear every five pages or so to nicely break up the reading; the language is natural; and Jacobson’s repeated use of bulleted lists helps group multiple ideas. Twig’s engaging narration introduces characters many newly independent readers will want to know better." —The Horn Book

"Readers will find Twig and Turtle delightful, coping with their unusual and interesting obstacles with determination and great resourcefulness. . . . comforting and reassuring, with problems neatly tied up and solved."Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781645950226
ISBN-10: 1645950220
Publisher: Pixel+Ink
Publication Date: October 20th, 2020
Pages: 112
Series: Twig and Turtle

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Gamers get ready! Kiera is your normal student dealing with friends, boyfriend, and school, except she is also the game developer behind a secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY. But when the game is exposed to the media, people want to tear down the safe space she has created. I loved the game play, energy, family dynamics and the few chapters told from different players perspectives. A great action packed book that can be given to so many people. For ages 13 and up. I want to SLAY! - Jessica