The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt's Fire (Hardcover)

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt's Fire Cover Image

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves 1: Egypt's Fire (Hardcover)

$17.99


Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of Jul 4 4:33pm
(8-12)
"The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves is a great ride, but you don’t have to take my word for it."  —LeVar Burton

Follow the world’s greatest detective you’ve never heard of in this madcap middle grade mystery for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes.


After twelve-year-old John Boarhog’s mom dies, the last thing he wants is to be schlepped off to the Jersey Home for Boys, where kids are forced to make skinny jeans for hipsters and are fed nothing but kale. Instead, he makes himself a snug home in the ceiling of the New York Museum of Natural History, where he reads anything he get his hands on and explores the artifacts afterhours.
 
But when a rare Egyptian ruby—the highlight of the museum’s new exhibit—goes missing, John is accused of the crime. That is until the unpredictable Inspector Toadius McGee sweeps in to wrestle control of the case, certain that the true culprit is a notorious criminal he’s been tracking for years.
 
John quickly becomes the Watson to Toadius’s Holmes as they race from Broadway to back alleys to a speak-easy that only serves root beer. And along the way, John uncovers secrets about his own past, including that he’s a lot more involved in this web of endearing ne'er-do-wells than he ever could have imagined.
 
A love letter to classic middle grade, Egypt's Fire introduces a remarkable new duo that will steal your heart as surely as it leaves you begging for their next grand adventure.
 
A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
Despite a lifelong struggle with dyslexia, Tom Phillips grew up with a passion for storytelling. He writes books that kids can enjoy on their own, but also read aloud and share. He's had a long career as an editor and artist for clients such as LeVar Burton Kids, HBO, Disney, and ABC, and is currently writing a screenplay for a major studio. An armchair Sherlockian, Tom lives in Los Angeles with his lovely wife and his dog, Dr. Watson.
Product Details ISBN: 9781645951056
ISBN-10: 1645951057
Publisher: Pixel+Ink
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves
"The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves is a great ride, but you don't have to take my word for it." —LeVar Burton

"This fast-paced mystery, sprinkled with humor and life lessons, has enough twists, turns, red herrings, and secrets to keep readers guessing. A strong series starter for fans of clever mysteries."—Booklist

"[A] fast-moving cinematic madcap detective mystery. . . ."—School Library Journal

"A brisk romp chock-full of tricky twists and daffy doings."—Kirkus Reviews