Sejal Sinha Battles Superstorms (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Sejal Sinha Battles Superstorms By Maya Prasad, Abira Das (Illustrator) Cover Image

Sejal Sinha Battles Superstorms (Paperback)

By Maya Prasad, Abira Das (Illustrator)

$6.99


Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of Jul 12 12:35pm
(Early Chapter Books)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Sejal Sinha series.

Staff Reviews


A science focused action adventure series for young readers. Perfect for fans of Zoey and Sassafras.

(Early chapter book, ages 7+) — Find more Staff Picks by Jessica

— Jessica

The Magic School Bus meets Over the Moon in this first book in a new chapter book series about a young Indian American girl who loves science and has a big imagination!

Sejal Sinha is looking forward to celebrating Diwali with her family. But when a hurricane appears, Sejal and her cousin Mira learn that the house is in danger from the imminent storm. With the help of Sejal’s favorite stuffed animal, Professor Cheetah, the two girls use Cardboard Box Magic to build their own Hurricane Hunter and fly into the eye of the hurricane!

They learn about a project from the 1960s called Project Stormfury, where a team actually tried to stop hurricanes. Can Sejal and Mira do what the previous Stormfury team couldn’t and battle the superstorm?
Maya Prasad is a South Asian American author, a Caltech graduate, and a former software engineer. She currently resides in the Pacific Northwest, where she enjoys hiking, canoeing, and raising her budding bookworm kiddo. She’s the author of young adult novel Drizzle, Dreams, and Lovestruck Things and the Sejal Sinha chapter book series. Maya has also had short fiction published in Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YACast of Wonders, and Voyage YA. She is passionate about creating brown girl leads in children’s literature.

Abira Das is a freelance artist with experience in book illustration, graphic design, and video game art. She is the illustrator of the Sejal Sinha chapter book series.

Product Details ISBN: 9781665911771
ISBN-10: 1665911778
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: Sejal Sinha
"Sejal’s delightfully curious and determined first-person narration charts the course of this special mission as the crew flies into the eye of the storm and learns about the forces of nature along the way...the future looks sunny for this fun and informative STEM chapter-book series opener."
— Booklist

"An absorbing read that balances lessons about friendship and science."
— Kirkus Reviews