The Return of Sherlock Holmes & His Last Bow (Hardcover)

The Return of Sherlock Holmes & His Last Bow By Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, David Stuart Davies (Afterword by) Cover Image

The Return of Sherlock Holmes & His Last Bow (Hardcover)


Recently On Our Shelves
On hand as of Oct 2 8:34pm

Designed to appeal to the book lover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautifully bound pocket-sized gift editions of much loved classic titles. Bound in real cloth, printed on high quality paper, and featuring ribbon markers and gilt edges, Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

Ten years after the supposed death of Sherlock Holmes at the Reichenbach Falls, Arthur Conan Doyle was to bow to popular pressure and the large fees offered by publishers to revive the detective's career. To the astonishment of Dr Watson and the delight of his readers Holmes returns to Baker Street, explains how he escaped death at the Falls and is ready to commence detective work once more. Doyle provided a rich and fascinating set of mysteries to challenge his sleuth in this collection. As before, Watson is the superb narrator and his magic remains unchanged and undimmed. In His Last Bow, the final story of this collection, we are told how Sherlock Holmes is brought out of retirement to help the Government fight the German threat at the approach of the First World War. It is the last time that Holmes and Watson work together. As well as his witty and illuminating Afterword to this edition, David Stuart Davies, the illustrious editor of Sherlock magazine, has provided a fascinating chronology of the Sherlock Holmes Stories.

Stories in this edition:
The Return of Sherlock Holmes
1. The Empty House
2. The Norwood Builder
3. The Dancing Men
4. The Solitary Cyclist
5. The Priory School
6. Black Peter
7. Charles Augustus Milverton
8. The Six Napoleons
9. The Three Students
10. The Golden Pince-Nez
11. The Missing Three-Quarter
12. The Abbey Grange
13. The Second Stain

His Last Bow
14. Wisteria Lodge
15. The Cardboard Box
16. The Red Circle
17. The Bruce-Partington Plans
18. The Dying Detective
19. The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax
20. The Devil's Foot
21. His Last Bow

Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) studied medicine at Edinburgh University, but ultimately gave up medicine to pursue a career in writing both fiction and non-fiction. His iconic sleuths, Holmes and Watson, have entertained generations of readers.

An internationally recognized expert on Sherlock Holmes and Conan Doyle, David Stuart Davies is the editor of the crime fiction magazine Sherlock and the author of several books on Sherlock Holmes. He also edits the Crime Writers' Association's monthly Red Herrings magazine. Forests of the Night was his first Johnny Hawke novel. He lives in West Yorkshire, England.

Product Details ISBN: 9781909621770
ISBN-10: 1909621773
Publisher: Macmillan Collector's Library
Publication Date: August 23rd, 2016
Pages: 640
Language: English