Popular Preorders

Saving Winslow (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Saving Winslow Cover Image
$21.99
Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This delightful family read aloud skillfully weaves empathy, compassion and family into a beautifully realized story – universal and timeless – I dare say a new classic, in the mold of Charlotte’s Web (without the talking animals). Ten-year old Louie is trying his best to save a mini-donkey, he named Winston, who was born prematurely and whose mother died giving birth. Louie’s track record is not so good at keeping animals in his care alive, but he has faith in Winslow and gives him everything he has – most especially his love. Louie is sure Winslow will survive, and uses his plight as connection to his older brother Gus’ absence serving in the army. Strong, fully developed characters come to life in Creech’s vividly, and deceptively short novel which will stay with you long after the satisfying last page.

— From Staff Picks by Maureen

Saving Winslow captures an innocence and steadfast belief in miracles that are real and close at hand. Louie is determined to save the sick miniature donkey even though his past animal endeavors haven't turned out well. But he names him Winslow to show that he will survive and with the help of his family and some unexpected sources, maybe miracles can come true. A beautiful book for a family to enjoy together as a read aloud. 

— From Staff Picks by Jessica

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Louie loves animals, but just doesn't seem to have the knack for taking care of them — too many carnival animals have not survived his loving care. So when his father brings home a newborn miniature donkey, Louie's parents tell him not to get his hopes up that the little guy will survive the night, let alone thrive. Louie's determination that Winslow will be okay, the new friendships he makes, and his belief that one person can make a difference makes for a wonderful story.”
— Debbie Buck, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982554408
ISBN-10: 1982554401
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

A delightful, contemporary fiction for sisters everywhere by our favorite Satellite sister – Lian Dolan, The Sweeney Sisters will make you laugh, cry and chortle with recognition of your own family and its foibles (I sure did, coming from a family of 5 children). How three adult sisters become four is pure Dolan, as she captures family dynamics with a knowing nod to her own. And even those who grew up as only children will want to join the Sweeney family of Connecticut. This heartfelt and affecting novel will be one to pass on to your sisters! - reviewed by Maureen