Popular Preorders

Saving Winslow (MP3 CD)

Saving Winslow Cover Image
$39.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Louie loves animals, but just doesn't seem to have the knack for taking care of them — too many carnival animals have not survived his loving care. So when his father brings home a newborn miniature donkey, Louie's parents tell him not to get his hopes up that the little guy will survive the night, let alone thrive. Louie's determination that Winslow will be okay, the new friendships he makes, and his belief that one person can make a difference makes for a wonderful story.”
— Debbie Buck, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982554415
ISBN-10: 198255441X
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Language: English

Start School with a Love of Books!

Lola Goes to School (Lola Reads) Cover Image
Wemberly Worried Cover Image
Mermaid School Cover Image
Spy School Cover Image
The Mr. Wolf's Class (Mr. Wolf's Class #1) Cover Image
We Don't Eat Our Classmates Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Wow.... What an incredible book. Tillie Walden's work is always a deeply visceral ezperience; it seeps into your soul and never leaves you. This book haunted me for weeks after I read it (in a good way, of course). Potently poignant, vividly beautiful, and quietly impactful in the loudest way Spinning is truly a masterpiece of graphic novel storytelling. I will ALWAYS jump on board any story that Tillie has to tell!! - reviewed by Isabel