Saving Winslow (MP3 CD)

Saving Winslow Cover Image
$39.99
Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Fall 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Louie loves animals, but just doesn't seem to have the knack for taking care of them — too many carnival animals have not survived his loving care. So when his father brings home a newborn miniature donkey, Louie's parents tell him not to get his hopes up that the little guy will survive the night, let alone thrive. Louie's determination that Winslow will be okay, the new friendships he makes, and his belief that one person can make a difference makes for a wonderful story.”
— Debbie Buck, Vintage Books, Vancouver, WA

Description


"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982554415
ISBN-10: 198255441X
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 11th, 2018
Language: English

New Year, New Books!

The Secrets of Winterhouse Cover Image
Staff Pick Logo
Saving Winslow Cover Image
I'll Love You Till the Cows Come Home Cover Image
Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire Cover Image
Wild Bios: Frida Catlo Cover Image
Max and the Midknights Cover Image

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

What a sweet, gentle book this is! Sister tells how her younger brother finds objects, and in his quest, he finds a shining fallen star. After they realize it may be someone else's, Massini's whimsical illustrations point to some usual suspects - but alas! no one claims the star. Ah, but greater things are in store for the pair, and with Hay's imaginative telling, a happy ending is clearly seen. Gorgeous, vibrant artwork make this a standout for storytime. Be ready for multiple tellings! - Maureen