Popular Preorders

My Rainbow (Hardcover)

My Rainbow Cover Image
By DeShanna Neal, Trinity Neal, Art Twink (Illustrator)
$17.99
Available to Order from Our Warehouse

Description


A dedicated mom puts love into action as she creates the perfect rainbow-colored wig for her transgender daughter, based on the real-life experience of mother-daughter advocate duo Trinity and DeShanna Neal.

Warm morning sunlight and love fill the Neal home. And on one quiet day, playtime leads to an important realization:Trinity wants long hair like her dolls. She needs it to express who she truly is.

So her family decides to take a trip to the beauty supply store, but none of the wigs is the perfect fit. Determined, Mom leaves with bundles of hair in hand, ready to craft a wig as colorful and vibrant as her daughter is.

With powerful text by Trinity and DeShanna Neal and radiant art by Art Twink, My Rainbow is a celebration of showing up as our full selves with the people who have seen us fully all along.

About the Author


DeShanna and Trinity Neal are a mother-daughter team of writers, advocates for black and transgender rights and awareness, and have been featured in major publications such as National Geographic, The Advocate, and Essence. DeShanna and Trinity write to foster understanding between transgender, cisgender, and nonbinary children.

Art Twink is a creator and lover of all things queer, colorful, and cute. They've worked on artivism for prison abolition, transgender liberation, and mental health issues. Catch them @art_twink for more stories of queer brown happiness.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR MY RAINBOW 

A Kirkus Reviews Best Children's Book 2020
A 2021 American Library Association #RainbowBookList Top 10 Pick
A Parent's Magazine Book Club Pick

A University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education Best Book for Young Readers 2020

"A revolutionary representation of joy and self-expression." -- Kirkus, starred review
"A joyful family story that emphasizes the importance of listening and loving people for who they are." --Publishers Weekly, starred review
"An affirming, uplifting story to add to school and public library collections." --School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781984814609
ISBN-10: 1984814605
Publisher: Kokila
Publication Date: October 20th, 2020
Pages: 32
Language: English

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Be ready to stay up all night and finish this imaginative and well-crafted thriller by newcomer Alex Finlay. For fans of Ruth Ware & Mindy Mejia. An absolute knock-out.  - review by Maureen