Everyone Gets A Book A catalog of recommendations from your local independent bookstore

Popular Preorders

Bookwood 2018

 

Bookwood 2018 at Once Upon A Time Bookstore

We are extremely excited to share with you this year’s Bookwood guest author line-up and we hope you will be too! We’re offering book pre-sales for the holiday season. It’s a win-win… Get ready to meet these amazing authors at Bookwood in February and gift a terrific book for the holidays. 

** When checking out, write “BOOKWOOD” in the coupon section for FREE SHIPPING. This helps our Story Center too!!**

The Secret Series Complete Collection Cover Image
$38.99
ISBN: 9780316219815
Availability: Backordered
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2012

The Name of this Book Is Secret (The Secret Series #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316113663
Availability: Backordered
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2007

The Name of this Book Is Secret (The Secret Series #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316113694
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2008

If You're Reading This, It's Too Late (The Secret Series #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316113670
Availability: Hard to Find - Not Available
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2008

If You're Reading This, It's Too Late (The Secret Series #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316113687
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2009

This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series #3) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316040860
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2009

This Book Is Not Good For You (The Secret Series #3) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316040853
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2010

This Isn't What It Looks Like (The Secret Series #4) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316076258
Availability: Backordered
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 21st, 2010

This Isn't What It Looks Like (The Secret Series #4) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316076241
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 5th, 2011

You Have to Stop This (The Secret Series #5) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316076265
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 20th, 2011

You Have to Stop This (The Secret Series #5) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316076272
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2012

Write This Book: A Do-It-Yourself Mystery (The Secret Series) Cover Image
$18.69
ISBN: 9780316207812
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2013

Write This Book: A Do-It-Yourself Mystery (The Secret Series) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316207805
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 17th, 2014

Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) Cover Image
$18.70
ISBN: 9780316320382
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 16th, 2014

Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316320399
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2015

Bad Luck (The Bad Books #2) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780316320429
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 9th, 2016

Bad Luck (The Bad Books #2) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316320443
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2017

Bad News (The Bad Books #3) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316320481
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 28th, 2017

Bad News (The Bad Books #3) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316320450
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

I'm Just No Good at Rhyming: And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups Cover Image
By Chris Harris, Lane Smith (Illustrator)
$20.99
ISBN: 9780316266574
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 26th, 2017

The Book with No Pictures Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803741713
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 30th, 2014

Exciting new signed books!

Staff Pick Badge
Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns #2) Cover Image
Legacy (Keeper of the Lost Cities #8) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Call Down the Hawk (The Dreamer Trilogy, Book 1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation Cover Image
Dinosaur Yoga Cover Image

Bad Magic by Pseudonymous Bosch for Bookwood 2018 with Once Upon A Time Bookstore

PSEUDONYMOUS BOSCH

"The Name of this Book is Secret”, The Secret Series, The Bad Books Series

Pseudonymousbosch.com

Pseudonymous Bosch for Bookwood 2018 with Once Upon A Time Bookstore

Pseudonymous Bosch is the anonymous pseudonymous author of the Secret Series.  Not much is known about him other than that he has a passionate love of chocolate and cheese and an equally passionate hatred of mayonnaise.  Rumors of Boschian sightings are just as frequent and about as reliable as reports of alien abductions.  If you ever meet anyone claiming to be Pseudonymous himself he is almost certainly an impostor. The real pseudonymous is said currently to be hiding in a cave in a remote jungle (although there are contrary reports that he is somewhere in Greenland).  

 

If you want to read a mysterious book of magic and secrets, then pick up this book and start reading!

The Guardian

 

Like Lemony Snicket with a little Monty Python.

LA Weekly

 

Equal parts supernatural whodunit, suspense-filled adventure and evocative coming of age tale.

Publishers Weekly


CHRIS HARRIS

"I’m Just No Good at Rhyming and Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-ups” 

I'm Just No Good at Rhyming and Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups for Bookwood 2018 with Once Upon a Time Bookstore

Who says poetry has to rhyme? Chris Harris — a writer and executive producer for How I Met Your Mother — had never written a poetry book or a children's book before, but he wanted to write something special for his own kids. So he created a collection called I'm Just No Good at Rhyming: And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups. It's a book that's completely unconcerned with the "rules" of poetry.

- Scott Simon, NPR Weekend Edition 

 

Those who claim to hate poetry will enjoy this riotous compilation.... Fans of Ogden Nash, Shel Silverstein, and Jack Prelutsky will rejoice in finding another member of their gang. Smith matches Harris's wit with his own zaniness.... A surefire winner for reading aloud or for snickering with under the covers.
 —School Library Journal, starred review

 

 Hits a poetry trifecta: high energy, rhymes that can rival Cole Porter's, and a torrent of ideas...a worthy heir to Silverstein, Seuss, and even Ogden Nash.

Publishers Weekly, starred review


BJ NOVACK

"The Book With No Pictures” 

The Book with No Pictures for Bookwood 2018 with Once Upon A Time Bookstore

Known best for his work on NBC’s Emmy Award-winning comedy series The Office, BJ Novak is also a bestselling author.  He encourages you to "read The Book With No Pictures aloud!”, because no two readings are the same.  At once perfectly simple and ingeniously imaginative, The Book With No Pictures inspires laughter every time it is opened, creating a warm and joyous experience to share—and introducing young children to the powerful idea that the written word can be an unending source of mischief and delight.

thebookwithnopictures.com

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

This delightful family read aloud skillfully weaves empathy, compassion and family into a beautifully realized story – universal and timeless – I dare say a new classic, in the mold of Charlotte’s Web (without the talking animals). Ten-year old Louie is trying his best to save a mini-donkey, he named Winston, who was born prematurely and whose mother died giving birth. Louie’s track record is not so good at keeping animals in his care alive, but he has faith in Winslow and gives him everything he has – most especially his love. Louie is sure Winslow will survive, and uses his plight as connection to his older brother Gus’ absence serving in the army. Strong, fully developed characters come to life in Creech’s vividly, and deceptively short novel which will stay with you long after the satisfying last page. - Maureen