A Death in the Small Hours (Kobo eBook)

A Death in the Small Hours Cover Image
$11.99
Available Now

Description


From Charles Finch, the critically acclaimed author of A Beautiful Blue Death and A Burial at Sea, comes A Death in the Small Hours--an intriguing installment in the Charles Lenox Mysteries, deemed "a beguiling series" by The New York Times.

Charles Lenox is at the pinnacle of his political career and is a delighted new father. His days of regularly investigating the crimes of Victorian London now some years behind him, he plans a trip to his uncle's estate, Somerset, in the expectation of a few calm weeks to write an important speech. When he arrives in the quiet village of Plumley, however, what greets him is a series of strange vandalisms upon the local shops: broken windows, minor thefts, threatening scrawls.

Only when a far more serious crime is committed does he begin to understand the great stakes of those events, and the complex and sinister mind that is wreaking fear and suspicion in Plumley. Now, with his protege, John Dallington, at his side, the race is on for Lenox to find the culprit before he strikes again. And this time his victim may be someone that Lenox loves.

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Get ready for some amazing story beats with this debut middle grade book, Barakah Beats! Perfect for fans of Front Deskand Amina's Voice, Nimra is starting a new school and winds up singing in the popular boy band. But will she be able to tell her new-found friends that sining conflicts with her faith?

I loved this book for the friendship and the honesty around the difficulty fitting in - even when you find your group - a fantastic choice for ages 9-12. 

- Reviewed by Jessica