The Jane Austen Society (Kobo eBook)

The Jane Austen Society Cover Image
$13.99
Available Now

Description


*** INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *

"This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism."** People

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society… A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.

One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people—a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others—could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society.

A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781250248725
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: May 25th, 2020
Language:

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Grumpy Monkey is one of my favorite picture books about emotions, and feeling feelings that you just don’t know what to do with! We all have those days, and Monkey is having one of those days—real bad! He’s grumpy, and all his friends just want to help make him feel better, but it only makes him feel worse! Along the way, Monkey learns about his feelings, and that sometimes you have to let yourself feel exactly what you feel…and very soon, you’ll feel better again. Don’t miss the lovely companion books, Grumpy Monkey Party Time and Grumpy Monkey Up All Night!

(Picture Book) - reviewed by Isabel