The Accidental Apprentice (Kobo eBook)

The Accidental Apprentice Cover Image
$10.99
Available Now

Description


A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this “wholesome, delightful” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town’s mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town’s most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay’s horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he’s always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781534477582
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: March 29th, 2021
Language:

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Fuddles's experience with dogs is something I can understand since I have a lot of dog friends visit me at the store. Except I don't have to deal with any puddles they make. A story that reminds you friends can be found in interesting places. - Pippi, bookstore cat