Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch (Paperback) (Signed Copy)

$7.99
SKU: 9780316493895a
About This Copy
Condition: 
New
Signed Copy?: 
Yes
Inscribed?: 
No
Ex-Library?: 
No
Price: $7.99
Primary Author: 
Abe, Julie
Binding Type: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family
Publication Date: 
07/06/2021
Book Description: 
A young witch must pass a coming-of-age quest or risk losing her magic forever in this enchanting fantasy -- perfect for fans of Kiki's Delivery Service and Aru Shah and the End of Time -- now in paperback!

Sometimes all you need is a pinch of magic...

Eva Evergreen is determined to earn the rank of Novice Witch before her thirteenth birthday. If she doesn't, she'll lose her magic forever. For most young witches and wizards, it's a simple enough test:

One: Help your town, do good all around.
Two: Live there for one moon, don't leave too soon.
Three: Fly home by broomstick, the easiest of tricks.

The only problem? Eva only has a pinch of magic. She summons heads of cabbage instead of flowers and gets a sunburn instead of calling down rain. And to add insult to injury, whenever she overuses her magic, she falls asleep.

When she lands in the tranquil coastal town of Auteri, the residents expect a powerful witch, not a semi-magical girl. So Eva comes up with a plan: set up a magical repair shop to aid Auteri and prove she's worthy. She may have more blood than magic, but her "semi-magical fixes" repair the lives of the townspeople in ways they never could have imagined. Only, Eva's bit of magic may not be enough when the biggest magical storm in history threatens the town she's grown to love. Eva must conjure up all of the magic, bravery, and cleverness she can muster or Auteri and her dreams of becoming a witch will wash away with the storm.
ISBN: 
9.78E+12

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Twins is a charming new middle-grade graphic novel that is uplifting and entertaining, but also extremely realistic in its portrayals of just what it feels like to start the shift from elementary school from middle school. This story follows Maureen and Francine, two twin sisters, as they enter into middle school together. This story perfectly captures that strange and liminal space that one feels when transitioning from elementary school from middle school, where you are still a kid, but suddenly the world sees you as so much older. It captures all those confusing moments: the innocent conflicts while making new friends and wanting to find yourself; mixed with the scarier, more adult stuff like academic pressure and even how scary it feels to be witness to racial prejudice or vandalism. Twins is written and illustrated with intelligence and charm and is the next pick for fans of such things as Raina Telgemeier’s many books, the Baby Sitter’s Club, or the Nat Enough series!

(Graphic Novel, Ages 8+) - reviewed by Isabel